Bunch of rules questions

This is the topic for asking questions about how the core rules officially work. Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
User avatar
Volt875
Seasoned
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 3:59 pm

Bunch of rules questions

#1 Postby Volt875 » Thu Aug 23, 2012 12:46 pm

Hello Savage Worlds people. Picked up core a while ago and read through it to prepare for an upcoming game and encountered a bunch of stuff I was hoping you guys could help with. So without further ado...
1) If your shaken by one attack then take a wound from another and then you use a benny to soak the wound do you become unshaken?
2) Moving your pace is a free action. Can I move half my pace, attack, then move the other half?
3) It says under healing that you can reattempt as often as you like within the golden hour. Does that mean if I succed and heal I can make another check to heal more?
4) With grappling is the first roll to entangle opposed or do you just have to beat their parry?
5) With the innocent bystander rule does that mean you have to roll a one on both the shooting die and wild die or just the shooting die?
6) Not a real rules question so ignore it if you want but the part in chapter 4 about mantaining powers mentions a charm power but it's not in the book. Is this just a typo?

And one I forgot so am editing in. If you are shaken and are hit and the damage beats your toughness with a raise you only take 1 wound correct?

Thanks for your time. Also if it helps I have the Explorer's Edition 3rd printing

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19626
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: Bunch of rules questions

#2 Postby Clint » Thu Aug 23, 2012 3:35 pm

Volt875 wrote:1) If your shaken by one attack then take a wound from another and then you use a benny to soak the wound do you become unshaken?


If a character Soaks all the wounds from an attack, they also remove their Shaken condition regardless of the original source.

Volt875 wrote:2) Moving your pace is a free action. Can I move half my pace, attack, then move the other half?


Sure. Actions can be resolved at any point during movement.

Volt875 wrote:3) It says under healing that you can reattempt as often as you like within the golden hour. Does that mean if I succed and heal I can make another check to heal more?


That rule changed. You can download the new one for free from the Pinnacle website, but in short, one character can make one Healing skill attempt per hour. Different characters can try in the same hour, but not the same one.

If it's the Healing power, the character can try as many times as they have PPs.

Volt875 wrote:4) With grappling is the first roll to entangle opposed or do you just have to beat their parry?


By the current rules, it's Opposed.

Volt875 wrote:5) With the innocent bystander rule does that mean you have to roll a one on both the shooting die and wild die or just the shooting die?


Roll a 1 on the Shooting die and simply miss with the Wild Die (the rule is every miss that comes up a 1 on the Shooting die).

Volt875 wrote:6) Not a real rules question so ignore it if you want but the part in chapter 4 about mantaining powers mentions a charm power but it's not in the book. Is this just a typo?


It's basically the Puppet power, but it's a bit of errata we've purposefully kept around since the first printing because we find it, ahem, charming. ;)

Volt875 wrote:And one I forgot so am editing in. If you are shaken and are hit and the damage beats your toughness with a raise you only take 1 wound correct?


Correct.

Hope that helps!
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Return to “Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest