[EN] leveling in evernight

Information and comments on all Pinnacle official Savage Settings plus our genre-based Companions. Please note the product with an abbreviation in the Subject line (ex. [FC] for Fantasy Companion, [SK] for Solomon Kane, and so on). Note: Deadlands has its own forum below.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

khyskilgo
Novice

[EN] leveling in evernight

#1 Postby khyskilgo » Sun Aug 12, 2012 2:34 am

this is my first time running anything in a savage worlds game, i've been a player but have never run the show.
now my question is, how to award experience to have it scale correctly, should they be going up a tier after each chapter or a whole rank, or do i reward experience based on the difficulty of the scene?

Enno
Veteran

#2 Postby Enno » Sun Aug 12, 2012 4:15 am

None of the above.

Awarding xp is a simple rule described on p124 of the SWD.

Per session you reward 1-3 xp to everyone, with an usual average of 2 xp. You may hand out 1 or 2 xp extra if the players accomplished something major, or if it was a memorable and fun session. But hand out such extra xp sparingly, as the normal progression assumes a level-up every 2-3 sessions.

Getting xp isn't the focus in SW, having a good time is! ;)
High Sage of Hoenir & Scribe of Qedeshet

Lysander
Seasoned

#3 Postby Lysander » Sun Aug 12, 2012 1:53 pm

I run an online Savage Worlds Star Wars Game, and we only play 2-2.5 hours a session. I was handing out 2xp per and by the time we got to the end of chapter 2 of 10, they are already knocking on the door to the 3th Rank (Heroic). So had to tone it back to 1xp/session, and a +1 at a major milestone or end of chapter.

On the other hand, another person in the same group runs a game and give out 2 per 2 hr session, but increases the xp between ranks by 5, so instead of new ranks at 20/40/60/80, its 25/50/75/100.