Does Fast Target penalty apply to both combatants?

This is the topic for asking questions about how the core rules officially work. Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
pcrh
Novice
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 1:05 pm

Does Fast Target penalty apply to both combatants?

#1 Postby pcrh » Sun Aug 05, 2012 1:12 pm

The Fast Target penalty (p.100 deluxe ed.) says someone trying to shoot a fast moving target is at -1 per 10" movement.

This clearly applies to a stationary shooter who shoots at a jetpack jockey who flies by at 10" move. But if the jetpack jockey also shoots at the stationary target while the jetpack jockey is moving at 10", does the jetpack jockey also suffer the Fast Target penalty (in addition to the unstable platform penalty)?

My answer would be "yes" both parties suffer the Fast Target penalty--both are moving relative to one another. Both would have to "lead" their target. There should be no difference (aside from the unstable platform) on the penalties suffered by two parties shooting at each other, moving relative to one another.

Can someone clarify? Many thanks!

pcrh

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19197
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: Does Fast Target penalty apply to both combatants?

#2 Postby Clint » Mon Aug 06, 2012 10:14 am

pcrh wrote:The Fast Target penalty (p.100 deluxe ed.) says someone trying to shoot a fast moving target is at -1 per 10" movement.

This clearly applies to a stationary shooter who shoots at a jetpack jockey who flies by at 10" move. But if the jetpack jockey also shoots at the stationary target while the jetpack jockey is moving at 10", does the jetpack jockey also suffer the Fast Target penalty (in addition to the unstable platform penalty)?

My answer would be "yes" both parties suffer the Fast Target penalty--both are moving relative to one another. Both would have to "lead" their target. There should be no difference (aside from the unstable platform) on the penalties suffered by two parties shooting at each other, moving relative to one another.

Can someone clarify?


Well, a jetpack isn't exactly a core rules "vehicle," but as the rule says, "This is relative, so a vehicle heading directly toward a character doesn’t get the modifier..." So there in the first example of it being relative, it's a case of a vehicle moving towards a character and it not suffering the penalty because it is moving directly at him. Meaning if it was not moving directly at him, it would suffer the penalty for its own movement.

So yeah, if a character in a vehicle is driving past a stationary target at a speed of 15", then that's the speed relative to each other for both.
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Return to “Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests