a question about skills or more about the lack of skills

This is the topic for asking questions about how the core rules officially work. Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
Dr_Hell
Novice
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 4:08 am

a question about skills or more about the lack of skills

#1 Postby Dr_Hell » Fri Aug 03, 2012 6:05 am

i dont know if theres a post about this already im new to the forum and im a bit lazy so i make a new post ..

Im quite new to savage worlds i have never played it before and i taken upon myself to be the marshall for a deadlands reloaded game

but one question came to mind when i was reading the deadlands books and the savage worlds core rolebook

it says that if you dont have a skill you roll a die anyway a d4 and subtract 2 and you also get to roll your wild die

but i cant see any use for rolling the d4-2 since that can never reach the target value of 4 unless heavily modified and since you also get to roll your wild die that gives you a 50% chans om sucsess so why just not skip the d4-2 and state that you get to roll just your wild die and that gives you a 50% chans of sucsess or faliure

you have to exscuse my spelling im from sweden so english isnt my native language

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19319
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: a question about skills or more about the lack of skills

#2 Postby Clint » Mon Aug 06, 2012 9:05 am

Dr_Hell wrote:it says that if you dont have a skill you roll a die anyway a d4 and subtract 2 and you also get to roll your wild die

but i cant see any use for rolling the d4-2 since that can never reach the target value of 4 unless heavily modified and since you also get to roll your wild die that gives you a 50% chans om sucsess so why just not skip the d4-2 and state that you get to roll just your wild die and that gives you a 50% chans of sucsess or faliure


Two things here...

First, as noted under Unskilled Attempts (pg. 63 of SWD) <italics added>, "Wild Card characters still get their Wild Die for these rolls (which are also subject to the –2 penalty)."

So the -2 penalty (like any modifier in the game) applies to both the d4 and the Wild Die when rolled.

Second, also noted in that same section, Trait Tests, for Unskilled Attempts, it discusses Aces (pg. 62 of SWD). All Trait and damage rolls in the game Ace, which means if the highest number is rolled on a die, it is rerolled and the results are added.

So it is possible to succeed with a -2 (or worse even) modifier on a d4 with a TN of 4 by rolling a 4 and then a 2 or better. It's even possible to get a raise or better by rolling a 4 then another 4 and so on.

Hope that clarifies and welcome to the forums.
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Return to “Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests