Devices in the Super Powers Companion ---Help please!

This topic is for rules questions related to products from Pinnacle outside the core rulebook (Settings, Companions, etc.). Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
BobSagetReturns
Novice
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2012 2:04 am

Devices in the Super Powers Companion ---Help please!

#1 Postby BobSagetReturns » Sat Jul 28, 2012 2:44 am

I am very confused.
In the Super Powers Companion, it provides a not so detailed explanation of Devices.
The book says that the Devices(items you can put powers into) are a universal modifier.
This modifier is -1 for every 5 total power points (and part thereof) each power costs after modifiers.
My understanding is that the devices recieve a -1 modifer automatically for every 5 points inveseted into the device.
However, the examples given, read as follows:

Figure each type of power the device grants separately—with a minimum cost of 1.
Absorption, which costs 3 points, for example, costs only 2 points if contained in a device.
Armor +6 normally costs 4 points, but costs only 3 if it’s a device (power armor, a vest, and so on).
- Devices, Super Powers Companion, Pinnacle Entertainment Group.


So which one is it?
Do devices get a -1 modifer even if you only use 2 points on one power?
Do they get a -1 modifer just for being on a device?
Or is there something else I'm missing here?
Any help would be great.

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19761
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: Devices in the Super Powers Companion ---Help please!

#2 Postby Clint » Mon Jul 30, 2012 8:10 am

BobSagetReturns wrote:I am very confused.
In the Super Powers Companion, it provides a not so detailed explanation of Devices.
The book says that the Devices(items you can put powers into) are a universal modifier.
This modifier is -1 for every 5 total power points (and part thereof) each power costs after modifiers.
My understanding is that the devices recieve a -1 modifer automatically for every 5 points inveseted into the device.
However, the examples given, read as follows:

Figure each type of power the device grants separately—with a minimum cost of 1.
Absorption, which costs 3 points, for example, costs only 2 points if contained in a device.
Armor +6 normally costs 4 points, but costs only 3 if it’s a device (power armor, a vest, and so on).
- Devices, Super Powers Companion, Pinnacle Entertainment Group.


So which one is it?
Do devices get a -1 modifer even if you only use 2 points on one power?
Do they get a -1 modifer just for being on a device?
Or is there something else I'm missing here?
Any help would be great.


The key point here is that it is -1 for 5 PPs and any "part thereof," meaning anything up to 5 total points provides a -1 modifier.

So to simplify, a power costing 2-5 PPs gets a -1 modifier (since 1 PP is the minimum cost, a 1 PP power would be unaffected). A power costing 6-10 PPs gets a -2 modifier, 11-15 gets a -3, and so on.

Hope that clarifies.
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Return to “Official Answers on How the Rules In Other Pinnacle Products Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests