RE: How much damage does a Push (Shield Bash) do?

This is the topic for asking questions about how the core rules officially work. Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
Judge Holden
Seasoned
Posts: 380
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 7:58 am

RE: How much damage does a Push (Shield Bash) do?

#1 Postby Judge Holden » Mon Jul 23, 2012 9:36 am

Hi Clint,

regarding this forum post http://www.peginc.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=37036&start=0&postdays=0&postorder=asc&highlight=shield+bash

In the errata for "page 75 Push" http://www.peginc.com/freebies/SWcore/SWDUpdates_Errata.pdf I was under the impression that the modified Bash section only modified the Bash choice. I assumed you could still choose to Shield Bash which would also add Strength damage in addition to the +3 (large shield) or Knock Prone for that matter (and do no damage)

Please clarify this because I was also murdering people with my large shield the other night and now I think I'm misreading something.
I once shot a man just to watch him die... but then I got distracted and missed it.

- Dave Foley

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19848
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: RE: How much damage does a Push (Shield Bash) do?

#2 Postby Clint » Mon Jul 23, 2012 10:29 am

Judge Holden wrote:Hi Clint,

regarding this forum post http://www.peginc.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=37036&start=0&postdays=0&postorder=asc&highlight=shield+bash

In the errata for "page 75 Push" http://www.peginc.com/freebies/SWcore/SWDUpdates_Errata.pdf I was under the impression that the modified Bash section only modified the Bash choice. I assumed you could still choose to Shield Bash which would also add Strength damage in addition to the +3 (large shield) or Knock Prone for that matter (and do no damage)

Please clarify this because I was also murdering people with my large shield the other night and now I think I'm misreading something.


Yeah, I wasn't clear on that. Let's try again...

"If the attacker has a shield, he can push the attacker as above, but also causes Str damage."

So the Strength damage result is "also caused" not added to any damage result from a Push for hitting an obstacle.

So if the character succeeds at a Shield Bash, they do Str+(Shield bonus damage) and the target moves back 1". If they get a raise, then the do the same damage but the target moves back 2".

So at best, if the attacker uses a large shield and if he gets a raise on the opposed roll and if the target also hits an obstacle, then the target would first take Str+3 damage and then taken 2d6 damage from hitting the obstacle. The two rolls are applied separately against Toughness.

Hope that's clearer.
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Return to “Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests