[SWD] Stacking powers

This is the topic for asking questions about how the core rules officially work. Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
Judge Holden
Seasoned
Posts: 380
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 7:58 am

[SWD] Stacking powers

#1 Postby Judge Holden » Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:44 am

Using the basic AB: magic background if I cast armor on myself in the first round of combat which of the following applies:

a) cast it again on myself in the second round of combat, with the effects stacking
b) maximum of +4 armor
c) need to keep track of separate spell durations
d) can continue to cast armor on myself until I run out of power points, with no maximum armor level
I once shot a man just to watch him die... but then I got distracted and missed it.

- Dave Foley

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19358
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: [SWD] Stacking powers

#2 Postby Clint » Mon Jul 23, 2012 10:14 am

Judge Holden wrote:Using the basic AB: magic background if I cast armor on myself in the first round of combat which of the following applies:

a) cast it again on myself in the second round of combat, with the effects stacking
b) maximum of +4 armor
c) need to keep track of separate spell durations
d) can continue to cast armor on myself until I run out of power points, with no maximum armor level


Unless a power says it stacks with itself, it doesn't, and only the best result applies.

So if cast with a success (+2 Armor), a mage could attempt to recast to try to get a raise for +4 Armor, but otherwise, there would be no increase in the effect.

See here as well...

http://www.peginc.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=311653#311653
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Return to “Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests