Power Choices: When are they chosen?

This is the topic for asking questions about how the core rules officially work. Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
User avatar
CitizenKeen
Seasoned
Posts: 123
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 1:30 pm

Power Choices: When are they chosen?

#1 Postby CitizenKeen » Thu Jul 12, 2012 10:27 pm

For spells like Boost/Lower Trait and Environmental Protection, when are those choices made? At power selection, or during casting?

1) If I have Boost/Lower Trait, do I need to select Strength when I take the power, or can I cast it on Strength one round and on Agility the next?

2) If I choose Strength, do I have to choose between Boost and Lower when I choose the power, or can I boost an ally's Strength one action and lower an enemy's the next?

3) During power selection, am I taking Environmental Protection, or Environmental Protection: Underwater? Can I cast EP on my friends for deep space one round, and lava pits the next?

Thank you kindly for all your wonderful help!

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19848
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: Power Choices: When are they chosen?

#2 Postby Clint » Fri Jul 13, 2012 8:31 am

CitizenKeen wrote:For spells like Boost/Lower Trait and Environmental Protection, when are those choices made? At power selection, or during casting?


Unless the powers are altered by personal or setting-based trappings, they work as listed allowing them to affect any Trait or protect from any environment chosen when they are cast.

CitizenKeen wrote:1) If I have Boost/Lower Trait, do I need to select Strength when I take the power, or can I cast it on Strength one round and on Agility the next?


The latter (noting that it could affect Fighting, Notice, etc. too since Traits applies to both Attributes and Skills).

CitizenKeen wrote:3) During power selection, am I taking Environmental Protection, or Environmental Protection: Underwater? Can I cast EP on my friends for deep space one round, and lava pits the next?


Again, barring some alteration to the power, the latter would be correct... though when your friends want to enter lava pits in deep space, you might want to reconsider your choice of friends. ;)
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Return to “Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests