How much damage does a Push (Shield Bash) do?

This is the topic for asking questions about how the core rules officially work. Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
nareau
Novice
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 3:01 pm

How much damage does a Push (Shield Bash) do?

#1 Postby nareau » Wed Jul 11, 2012 11:08 am

I decide to mash my enemy into an adjacent wall with a large shield bash. I get lucky and roll a 20 on my Str check, and he only rolls a 2. How much damage did I do? I think it's: 20 (Str damage) +3 (Large shield), then a separate 4d6 (4 raises on my push). Is that correct? Or should the Str+3 damage be rolled separately from the Push roll?

If I had drawn a Joker that round, would I be doing Str+3+2 damage, then 4d6+2 damage?

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19327
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: How much damage does a Push (Shield Bash) do?

#2 Postby Clint » Wed Jul 11, 2012 12:50 pm

nareau wrote:I decide to mash my enemy into an adjacent wall with a large shield bash. I get lucky and roll a 20 on my Str check, and he only rolls a 2. How much damage did I do? I think it's: 20 (Str damage) +3 (Large shield), then a separate 4d6 (4 raises on my push). Is that correct? Or should the Str+3 damage be rolled separately from the Push roll?


First off, I suggest you either update your PDF or download the errata.

Per the Errata, "“Bash: Push the target 1” for a success and 2” on a raise on the Strength roll. If the defender hits an obstacle, he suffers 1d6 damage for every 1” he would have moved.”

So in the example above, since the character using Push got a raise over the target and the wall was close enough for them to hit, they would suffer a base 2d6 damage for the 2" they would have moved in total (if the wall had not been there).

Since the character used a large shield, he would do Str+3 damage first. The initial Strength roll is not also used as the damage result (since it was a Trait roll not a damage roll); the damage roll is separate.

nareau wrote:If I had drawn a Joker that round, would I be doing Str+3+2 damage, then 4d6+2 damage?


It would be Str+5 (+3 for the shield and +2 for the joker), and then 2d6+2 if the target also hits an object.
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Return to “Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest