Summon Ally logistical nightmare

This is the topic for asking questions about how the core rules officially work. Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
icebrand
Novice
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 6:09 pm

Summon Ally logistical nightmare

#1 Postby icebrand » Tue Jul 10, 2012 12:10 pm

So, i finally got summon ally, and my GM won't let me use it fully...

My (legendary) mage casts summon ally for 7 PP and gets a mirror self that acts immediately.

Mirror self #1 casts another mirror self that acts immediately (13 PP left)
Mirror self #2 casts another mirror self that acts immediately (3 PP left)
Mirror self #3 casts 2 ogres (0 PP left)

On round 2 the mirror #1 casts another mirror self (6 PP left)
this, so i pretty much chill / buff / take cover / stay alive
Mirror self #2 casts a bodyguard (0 PP left)
Mirror self #2.1 casts another mirror self that acts immediately (3 PP left)
Mirror self #3 goes full defense so the ogres can dish out some damage
Mirror self #3.1 casts two more ogres

Round 3 :
Mirror #1 stops casting (must maintain all those mirror images!)
Mirror #2 is on full defense and 0 pp
Mirror #2.2 casts a mirror self
Mirror #3 is on full defense with 0 pp

Well, its a nightmare already, in 3 rounds i have like 5 mirrors, 4-6 ogres, maybe some sentinels and ran out of minis.

Is the spell supposed to work like this?

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 20018
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: Summon Ally logistical nightmare

#2 Postby Clint » Tue Jul 10, 2012 1:14 pm

icebrand wrote:So, i finally got summon ally, and my GM won't let me use it fully...

My (legendary) mage casts summon ally for 7 PP and gets a mirror self that acts immediately.

Mirror self #1 casts another mirror self that acts immediately (13 PP left)
Mirror self #2 casts another mirror self that acts immediately (3 PP left)
Mirror self #3 casts 2 ogres (0 PP left)

On round 2 the mirror #1 casts another mirror self (6 PP left)
this, so i pretty much chill / buff / take cover / stay alive
Mirror self #2 casts a bodyguard (0 PP left)
Mirror self #2.1 casts another mirror self that acts immediately (3 PP left)
Mirror self #3 goes full defense so the ogres can dish out some damage
Mirror self #3.1 casts two more ogres

Round 3 :
Mirror #1 stops casting (must maintain all those mirror images!)
Mirror #2 is on full defense and 0 pp
Mirror #2.2 casts a mirror self
Mirror #3 is on full defense with 0 pp

Well, its a nightmare already, in 3 rounds i have like 5 mirrors, 4-6 ogres, maybe some sentinels and ran out of minis.

Is the spell supposed to work like this?


Doesn't seem likely. In addition to being an Extra, each Mirror Image has half the PPs of the summoner and additionally has all Traits (Skills and Attributes) at one die type less than the summoner.

The example also starts with a caster with an innate 40 PPs which would require some setting effect to occur (since 35 PPs is the normal maximum), but ignoring that for the moment.

It also presumes that every casting roll is successful when even considering that the original caster has a d12 Spellcasting, the first mirror image would have a d10 and a 30% chance of failure and no Bennies to spend, with each further image having a greater and greater chance of failure.

Based off the original caster having a d12 Spellcasting, there's an 83.6% chance that one of four spells cast in just the first round fails, much less any of the later castings.

Even in the rare case that all these rolls succeeded, in three rounds, the character has ended up with 4-6 ogres where each 2 have been summoned in a consecutive round by the least skilled character.

Compartively, the original caster could have spent the same 7 PPs to just summon 4 ogres in the first round with almost a 50% chance they would have the Hardy ability as well.

Ultimately, all these mirror images do is increase the chance of failure and put a lot of pretty ineffective noncombatants on the table (since each successive mirror image has 1 less Parry and Toughness as their Fighting and Vigor decreases, not to mention not having any of the magical gear that the original Legendary character has).

Seems like something, possibly the lowered Traits or not being Wild Cards, isn't being applied. By the rules, tactically and statistically, it's certainly not the best way to use the Mirror Image summoning.
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Return to “Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests