Trappings add Power Points when?

This is the topic for asking questions about how the core rules officially work. Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
shinryu
Seasoned
Posts: 337
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 11:25 pm

Trappings add Power Points when?

#1 Postby shinryu » Mon Jul 09, 2012 6:25 pm

In SWD, for the example trappings, some trappings (AP from Fire) cost an additional Power Point to cast while others (the necromantic trappings) don't. Is there a general rule on when a trapping should add additional cost to a spell? Or is it pretty much GM call?

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19199
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: Trappings add Power Points when?

#2 Postby Clint » Tue Jul 10, 2012 8:31 am

shinryu wrote:In SWD, for the example trappings, some trappings (AP from Fire) cost an additional Power Point to cast while others (the necromantic trappings) don't. Is there a general rule on when a trapping should add additional cost to a spell? Or is it pretty much GM call?


Any trappings effects are pretty much up to GM call, especially since they can be very setting specific.

The examples are intended to give, well, examples. The bonus AP effect for fire attacks has no downside to it at all, so it costs an additional PP. The bonus damage for Necromatic shards only applies to unarmored targets and comes with an innate penalty against armored ones, so there's already something of an inherent balance to its effects.

That's ultimately what the GM should be looking for, keeping any effects for trappings pretty well balanced against the base power.
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Return to “Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests