Withdrawing From Close Combat

This is the topic for asking questions about how the core rules officially work. Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
JethSeux
Novice
Posts: 86
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 10:06 am

Withdrawing From Close Combat

#1 Postby JethSeux » Sun Jul 08, 2012 3:21 pm

If a character is trying to use a gun in close quarters combat, and wants to back up just far enough to be able to fire a rifle, or to be out of Parry range and only need a 4 to hit, can they back up just that far and fire the same round, without incurring the normal Withdrawing From Close Combat penalties?

I am just wondering if backing up for a clear shot is the same rules wise as actually turning tail and retreating?

Thanks,
-Jess

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19601
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: Withdrawing From Close Combat

#2 Postby Clint » Mon Jul 09, 2012 1:20 pm

JethSeux wrote:If a character is trying to use a gun in close quarters combat, and wants to back up just far enough to be able to fire a rifle, or to be out of Parry range and only need a 4 to hit, can they back up just that far and fire the same round, without incurring the normal Withdrawing From Close Combat penalties?

I am just wondering if backing up for a clear shot is the same rules wise as actually turning tail and retreating?


The actual reason for leaving close combat doesn't matter, just the fact that the character has withdrawn from close combat.

Since the effects listed specifically require moving away from a position adjacent to a foe (to fire a weapon larger than a pistol or avoid Parry) that's pretty much the definition of withdrawing from close combat, and it does allow a free attack.
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Return to “Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests