Ambidextrous, two-fisted and multiple limbs

This is the topic for asking questions about how the core rules officially work. Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
Wibbs
Veteran
Posts: 781
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 5:15 pm
Location: London

Ambidextrous, two-fisted and multiple limbs

#1 Postby Wibbs » Thu May 31, 2012 1:37 pm

This is copied from a question by someone on another forum...

In an effort to cheese out a high-powered game, we've allowed the race builder from SW Deluxe. One of the characters is a 4-armed gunslinger. We're trying to figure out the penalties to shooting 4 guns in a round.

How does ambidextrous affect attacking with more than 2 arms? Does it eliminate the off-hand penalty for all the arms, just one, or something different? Does Two Fisted eliminate the multi-action penalty for all the attacks?

Thanks,

Wibbs

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19372
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: Ambidextrous, two-fisted and multiple limbs

#2 Postby Clint » Thu May 31, 2012 2:47 pm

Wibbs wrote:In an effort to cheese out a high-powered game, we've allowed the race builder from SW Deluxe. One of the characters is a 4-armed gunslinger. We're trying to figure out the penalties to shooting 4 guns in a round.

How does ambidextrous affect attacking with more than 2 arms? Does it eliminate the off-hand penalty for all the arms, just one, or something different?


It's very much going to depend on the setting, but in general, Ambidextrous reduces the penalty for "the off-hand" singular, not multiple.

But ultimately if the setting has a race with multiple limbs, then it needs to adapt for how they work. Saurians for instance have a tail they can use as a natural weapon, but can't be used for any other sort of action, so off-hand doesn't apply to it.

If the goal here is just to "cheese out" a game, then maybe the GM will allow Ambidextrous to remove the penalty with all the limbs.

Wibbs wrote:Does Two Fisted eliminate the multi-action penalty for all the attacks?


It doesn't have to. The Multiple Limbs racial ability from SW Deluxe specifically states the extra action "incurs no multi-action penalty."

So, the character only needs Two Fisted to remove the penalty for using the two "original" arms simultaneously.

Hope that helps.
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Return to “Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests