Poison Question - Related to Deadlands

This topic is for rules questions related to products from Pinnacle outside the core rulebook (Settings, Companions, etc.). Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
HalifaxDM
Novice
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 7:06 pm

Poison Question - Related to Deadlands

#1 Postby HalifaxDM » Tue Mar 27, 2012 9:44 am

I plan on using Terrantula's in my next Deadlands session and have a few questions about their poison as it relates to SWD.

Under the Terrantula swarm description it's poison states it takes effect only if the character is wounded. SWD states that poison takes effect if the character is shaken or wounded. Should the creature description take precedence?

For the large and gargantuan varieties there is no specific poison effect described save for "Poisonous Bite" with a damage value.

Should the same poison effect of the swarm be used?

Or is the poison considered to be included in the damage value of the bite?

P.S. I apologize if this should have posted in the Deadlands forum.

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19317
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: Poison Question - Related to Deadlands

#2 Postby Clint » Tue Mar 27, 2012 10:06 am

HalifaxDM wrote:Under the Terrantula swarm description it's poison states it takes effect only if the character is wounded. SWD states that poison takes effect if the character is shaken or wounded. Should the creature description take precedence?


Specific ability descriptions take precedence over underlying rules, and while I can see the value in checking with the release of SWD, it's no different in this case. So how it's listed is how it works for the Terrantula.

HalifaxDM wrote:For the large and gargantuan varieties there is no specific poison effect described save for "Poisonous Bite" with a damage value.

Should the same poison effect of the swarm be used?

Or is the poison considered to be included in the damage value of the bite?


The latter is correct. The poison is inherent to the bite (why they add two dice to bite damage instead of the typical one die).

Hope that helps.
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Return to “Official Answers on How the Rules In Other Pinnacle Products Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests