[HoE] [Classic] A question about Junker Power & Power Ar

All discussions about the Wasted West and Way Out West settings. If system specific, please note in the subject line, [SW], [Classic], or [d20].

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
Demon of Kyber
Novice
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 8:05 pm

[HoE] [Classic] A question about Junker Power & Power Ar

#1 Postby Demon of Kyber » Sat Jun 18, 2011 8:45 pm

Just a quick note, our posse's Junker is making this, not me, as I'm not too great with the Junker rules so this could be quite Wrong.

Ok, my question is this: If I use the Junker Power Reactor to make a Reactor then use the Power Generator to convert that to "good ol' electricity" could I then hook that up to a suit of power armor and be fine for the power requirements (assuming enough power is output)

Also, as the Reactor generates Power per round and PA uses Drain/Minute, what Frame Size Reactor would be good if I'm using say 8 Drain a Minute
(Not sure on that number honestly)

Note that this is for a character in progress, He will be a Steel Knight so his PA is pretty important, and so he's looking for good power supplies.

Thanks for a replies in advance.

User avatar
Templar
Seasoned
Posts: 266
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 5:25 pm

#2 Postby Templar » Sun Jun 19, 2011 8:13 pm

(Before I answer, must say I enjoy the name, always nice to see another Eberron fan)

I'd say it would work. My group has a knight of steel in it as well. The minimum generator size is the one that can power a house, but it only gives half the energy listed for being hooked up to a standard power grid.

Demon of Kyber
Novice
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 8:05 pm

#3 Postby Demon of Kyber » Mon Jun 20, 2011 12:28 pm

(Yes, it is indeed nice to see Eberron fans elsewhere)

Ok so at a minimum it would require a Frame Size 5 Generator, which lists it provides 4 Drain an hour, and the power grid provides 2 units a minute, so it would provide 1 unit a minute for the Frame Size 5 Gen? Also, what about the Reactor?

Sorry if I'm misunderstanding but I am not getting where the Power Grid comes into effect in this?

User avatar
Templar
Seasoned
Posts: 266
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 5:25 pm

#4 Postby Templar » Mon Jun 20, 2011 9:20 pm

The reactor itself wouldn't help unless it powers the generator, since the energy it puts out is G rays and a non junker built suit of power armor would need regular electricity.

I mentioned the power grid since that was the only real example we have of power sources outside of a canister, broken suit, or nuclear vehicle.

Demon of Kyber
Novice
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 8:05 pm

#5 Postby Demon of Kyber » Tue Jun 21, 2011 1:14 pm

What I was going to do was have this-Basically having the Generator as an adapter from the Reactor to the Power Armor


Reactor 8 G-Rays a Round>>Generator to power a house>Power Armor

The generator has 4 drain an hour, still left with 116 G-Rays an hour
(This is all assuming 3 second rounds) the suit could use upto 7.7 Drain a minute and I would be fine on power


The reason I asked this on the forum was to get other people's opinion on if it would work, as it seems it will, so thank you Templar!

User avatar
Templar
Seasoned
Posts: 266
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 5:25 pm

#6 Postby Templar » Wed Jun 22, 2011 12:57 am

Demon of Kyber wrote:What I was going to do was have this-Basically having the Generator as an adapter from the Reactor to the Power Armor


Reactor 8 G-Rays a Round>>Generator to power a house>Power Armor

The generator has 4 drain an hour, still left with 116 G-Rays an hour
(This is all assuming 3 second rounds) the suit could use upto 7.7 Drain a minute and I would be fine on power


The reason I asked this on the forum was to get other people's opinion on if it would work, as it seems it will, so thank you Templar!



Oh, I should mention that the house sized generator thing is a houserule I have for my group. There isn't really an official one but given sizes and all that of the greater generators that is what my group decided to go to. We also require that nothing else be hooked to the generator when the suit is charging at the house sized one.

ScooterinAB
Seasoned
Posts: 488
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 10:28 pm

#7 Postby ScooterinAB » Fri Jun 24, 2011 3:19 pm

I should point out that all Frame size references were errata'ed some time ago. The minimum size of a reactor is not 2. That should save you some number crunching regarding left over drain.
28/12/09 Scooter just bought a Deadlands book... In a Japanese Gaming store... And the clerk knew what it was. Awesome.


Return to “Deadlands: Hell on Earth & Lost Colony”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests