Multiple Bolts: one Spellcasting die, or one per Bolt

This is the topic for asking questions about how the core rules officially work. Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
User avatar
SavageGamerGirl
Heroic
Posts: 1874
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2010 9:53 pm

Multiple Bolts: one Spellcasting die, or one per Bolt

#1 Postby SavageGamerGirl » Sat Mar 19, 2011 10:47 am

This came up last night.

When using Bolt and casting more than one Bolt, do you:

a) roll Spellcasting once and apply the results to each target individually?

-or-

b) roll one Spellcasting die per Bolt (with only one Wild Die, of course)?

I ruled b), and am certain of it, but couldn't find an absolute confirmation in the book.
'But I don't want to go among mad people,' Alice remarked.
'Oh, you can't help that,' said the Cat: 'we're all mad here.'
The Order of the Dice... OF DOOM!

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19317
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: Multiple Bolts: one Spellcasting die, or one per Bolt

#2 Postby Clint » Tue Mar 22, 2011 9:14 am

SavageGamerGirl wrote:This came up last night.

When using Bolt and casting more than one Bolt, do you:

a) roll Spellcasting once and apply the results to each target individually?

-or-

b) roll one Spellcasting die per Bolt (with only one Wild Die, of course)?

I ruled b), and am certain of it, but couldn't find an absolute confirmation in the book.


You were correct; "b" is the right way to resolve them.

It's one of the reasons why AB: Magic can suffer wounds from multiple Backlash results (in the core rules, that only really happens with Bolt where multiple Spellcasting dice are rolled in one action).
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Return to “Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests