Pyskers and helmets

All discussions about the Wasted West and Way Out West settings. If system specific, please note in the subject line, [SW], [Classic], or [d20].

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
User avatar
Templar
Seasoned
Posts: 266
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 5:25 pm

Pyskers and helmets

#1 Postby Templar » Tue Sep 07, 2010 10:26 pm

I was looking through waste warriors and it mentioned helmets messing up Psykers ability to channel. I couldn't find anything actually explaining it in the book or in brainburners. I might have missed it though, any help/clarification would be appreciated.

Demon
Seasoned
Posts: 126
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 4:06 pm

#2 Postby Demon » Wed Sep 08, 2010 9:56 am

just going from memory I am pretty sure that a syker can't use their abilities at all with a helmet on unless it is one of the special sykoactive helmets that I believe are made from ghost steel or something like that.

ValhallaGH
Legendary
Posts: 6523
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2010 9:15 pm

#3 Postby ValhallaGH » Wed Sep 08, 2010 10:52 am

I think this is covered in the core book.

Essentially, the Syker needs a clear forehead to use any powers, otherwise it feedbacks on them and fries their own brains. So, when you take a Syker prisoner you just have to tie a hat onto their head to keep them from blastin' every-damn-thin'.
Sykoactive helmets are the only exception due to a special design (that isn't completely flawless).
"Got a problem? I've got the solution: Rocket Launcher."
"Not against a Servitor."
"... We're all gonna die."

ScooterinAB
Seasoned
Posts: 488
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 10:28 pm

#4 Postby ScooterinAB » Wed Sep 15, 2010 12:41 am

I was just flipping through the rulebook, and couldn't find mention of this. Can someone point out a page number?
28/12/09 Scooter just bought a Deadlands book... In a Japanese Gaming store... And the clerk knew what it was. Awesome.

ValhallaGH
Legendary
Posts: 6523
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2010 9:15 pm

#5 Postby ValhallaGH » Wed Sep 15, 2010 12:58 pm

ScooterinAB wrote:I was just flipping through the rulebook, and couldn't find mention of this. Can someone point out a page number?

Apparently I was going off of our house rules. The relevant text is in the Brain Blast power. "Brain blast is a tremendous beam of energy that streams like a laser from the syker’s head to the target."
Because it goes from the syker's head, that means that it passes through any head coverings he has. In the case of a regular helmet, this adds 2 levels of armor to the target, and puts a hole in the syker's own headgear.

Other powers suffer from similar limitations, varying by the effect. The other thing to remember is that looking dangerous can be an important survival trait, and sykers are known to be dangerous. Walking around bald and looking like a syker can do a lot to make life easier and more peaceful for yourself.
"Got a problem? I've got the solution: Rocket Launcher."
"Not against a Servitor."
"... We're all gonna die."

User avatar
Templar
Seasoned
Posts: 266
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 5:25 pm

#6 Postby Templar » Wed Sep 15, 2010 9:57 pm

Sure, it looks great, but it also means you're saying "please pop my head" What I mean is that in the waste warriors book it mentioned that syker helmets were needed because normal ones interfered. Yet the psyker one was dangerous. Just trying to find the interference rules.

L3ster
Novice
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 9:03 am

#7 Postby L3ster » Thu Sep 16, 2010 2:44 am

Normal helmet doesn't interfere with syker powers only blast powers like brain blast, arson, cos they come from head. mind rider and other powers are unaffected by metal helmet.

User avatar
Templar
Seasoned
Posts: 266
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 5:25 pm

#8 Postby Templar » Thu Sep 16, 2010 10:26 pm

L3ster wrote:Normal helmet doesn't interfere with syker powers only blast powers like brain blast, arson, cos they come from head. mind rider and other powers are unaffected by metal helmet.


I am probably going to rule it that way, it just bugs me that they say that it interefered with other powers, especially brainblast, but no real data to offer on it. But yeah, might just say it only affects blasting oriented stuff.

ScooterinAB
Seasoned
Posts: 488
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 10:28 pm

#9 Postby ScooterinAB » Fri Sep 17, 2010 9:15 am

Stupid question, but don't all Syker powers "come from the head"?
28/12/09 Scooter just bought a Deadlands book... In a Japanese Gaming store... And the clerk knew what it was. Awesome.

ValhallaGH
Legendary
Posts: 6523
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2010 9:15 pm

#10 Postby ValhallaGH » Fri Sep 17, 2010 2:36 pm

ScooterinAB wrote:Stupid question, but don't all Syker powers "come from the head"?

... Not all, but most. Which means anything on the Syker's head adds to the armor protecting the target.
"Got a problem? I've got the solution: Rocket Launcher."
"Not against a Servitor."
"... We're all gonna die."

L3ster
Novice
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 9:03 am

#11 Postby L3ster » Thu Oct 07, 2010 3:52 am

Yes all powers come from head but they aren't DnD wizards who can't use armor for meat puppet power head gear doesn't interfere.


Return to “Deadlands: Hell on Earth & Lost Colony”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests