is there a reason to carry a buckler instead of a rapier?

This is the topic for asking questions about how the core rules officially work. Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
dugfromthearth
Seasoned
Posts: 138
Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2009 7:38 pm

is there a reason to carry a buckler instead of a rapier?

#1 Postby dugfromthearth » Thu Aug 27, 2009 2:12 pm

I don't know that I fully understand the two handed rules.

But a buckler adds +1 parry, a rapier adds +1 parry and weighs less.

It seems that carrying a buckler is foolish - save weight, get the same parry benefit, and carry a rapier in your offhand.

Is there some penalty for carrying a weapon in your offhand if you don't have two-fisted?

Does the parry bonus of the weapon not apply if carried in your offhand?

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19843
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: is there a reason to carry a buckler instead of a rapier

#2 Postby Clint » Thu Aug 27, 2009 3:14 pm

dugfromthearth wrote:But a buckler adds +1 parry, a rapier adds +1 parry and weighs less.

It seems that carrying a buckler is foolish - save weight, get the same parry benefit, and carry a rapier in your offhand.


As long as...

1. Rapiers exist in the setting (or there is no other setting reason to make bucklers preferable to rapiers).
2. The character doesn't mind spending 6x the price of a buckler to save the weight.
3. The character isn't using another weapon with a Parry bonus (like another rapier) as they don't stack (where the bonus from a buckler would).

dugfromthearth wrote:Is there some penalty for carrying a weapon in your offhand if you don't have two-fisted?


Other than not being able to use the hand for another action and making it harder to draw two weapons as opposed to one, nothing innately.

dugfromthearth wrote:Does the parry bonus of the weapon not apply if carried in your offhand?


It does (as long as the character isn't using another weapon with a Parry bonus).
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Return to “Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest