Raising the Pot and Initiative

All discussions about the Weird West setting for Savage Worlds. If specific to another system, please note in the subject line, [Classic], [d20], or [Protocol].

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
Lord Ben
Seasoned
Posts: 107
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 12:11 pm

Raising the Pot and Initiative

#1 Postby Lord Ben » Fri Nov 21, 2008 2:29 am

So if you roll Init and get 3 cards you can discard the highest one and use raising the pot to get several more init cards right away instead of waiting for your turn? YIKES!

A harrowed PC in the group has this and gets like 12 cards and can probably get straights/flushes pretty easily.

thepilk
Novice
Posts: 75
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 1:43 pm

#2 Postby thepilk » Fri Nov 21, 2008 3:02 pm

i dont think that works.

because you dont "have" the action card to activate RtP with until the initive roll actually resolves, unless you had a sleeved card from the previous round.

Cthulhu
Seasoned
Posts: 103
Joined: Fri May 23, 2003 2:46 pm

#3 Postby Cthulhu » Sat Nov 22, 2008 5:31 am

thepilk wrote:because you dont "have" the action card to activate RtP with until the initive roll actually resolves, unless you had a sleeved card from the previous round.


Don't forget that the Initiative roll resolves before the Raisin' The Pot! vamoose action (as per the rules for Raisin' the Pot?). So yes...you do have action cards available.

1. Roll initiative.
1a. Collect cards.
1b. Initiative roll now complete.

2. You now have the option to immediately vamoose to Raisin' the Pot!.
2a. Do you have a action card to vamoose with? Yes due to Step 1.
2b. Cast the hex and apply the raises. You may or may not get extra action cards out of this.

3. Continue with the rest of the combat turn.

Anyway...thats the theory behind it. Raisin' the Pot! follows right behind the step where initiative cards are gathered.

And yeah...I'm the player LordBen is talkin' about.

Cthulhu
Seasoned
Posts: 103
Joined: Fri May 23, 2003 2:46 pm

Re: Raising the Pot and Initiative

#4 Postby Cthulhu » Sat Nov 22, 2008 5:46 am

Lord Ben wrote:A harrowed PC in the group has this and gets like 12 cards and can probably get straights/flushes pretty easily.


Not THAT easily! :)

Luck O' The Draw requires an action to prep as well. So there are going to be a lot of times when I won't have all those extra hexslingin' cards available.

Not to mention that Raisin' The Pot! is nowhere near as reliable a means to get extra action cards as...say...Unholy Reflexes. Your spending an action card and gambling the odds will turn up in your favor with two or more action cards in return. Its risky and can be flubbed badly.

oddtail
Seasoned
Posts: 484
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2005 9:00 am
Location: Poland
Contact:

#5 Postby oddtail » Sun Nov 23, 2008 6:27 pm

Cthulhu: um, I think your interpretation is utterly wrong. When you roll, you have the option to improve your roll. If you don't, and then draw cards, it's too late to improve the roll. Just like you can't spend Fate Chips on a Shootin' roll after you've rolled hit location.

In other words, nothing can happen after the roll if you decide to improve the roll.

And my take on things is that you can't even Vamoose to improve the Quickness roll, even IF you have a sleeve card from the previous turn. The roll takes place outside of the normal action sequence - there's a reason it doesn't require a card. You Vamoose in response to something that *happens* - so, takes place on a certain card. You can't Vamoose to improve your Quickness roll because it takes place at the very beginning of the round, before the Ace of Spades even. Heck, before the Jokers, even.

So, no.
Can't think of anything smart/funny right now, sorry.

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19839
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

#6 Postby Clint » Mon Nov 24, 2008 9:52 am

Oddtail would be correct.

Raisin' the Pot must be used before the results of the initial roll are resolved because using Raisin' the Pot can itself cause the initial roll to fail. You can't use the result of a roll to activate a hex that might make the roll itself fail.

Plus, as he noted, Vamoosin' specifically states that it must be used before the results are resolved. And since it's impossible to use an action during the resolution of initiative which determines actions, Raisin' the Pot can never be used with the initiative roll. This is why there is a specific hex to gain additional action cards, Draw!

Even if the Marshal did allow Raisin' the Pot to work on the Quickness roll, it wouldn't change the basic rule that a character can't have more than 5 action cards in a round. As has been covered before, magical or harrowed effects that adjust Quickness in any way do not change the maximum number of actions. Only abilities that specifically add actions do that.
Last edited by Clint on Thu Nov 19, 2009 9:05 am, edited 1 time in total.
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com

Lord Ben
Seasoned
Posts: 107
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 12:11 pm

#7 Postby Lord Ben » Mon Nov 24, 2008 1:14 pm

That makes sense, thanks.

Cthulhu
Seasoned
Posts: 103
Joined: Fri May 23, 2003 2:46 pm

#8 Postby Cthulhu » Mon Nov 24, 2008 5:12 pm

Thanks Clint.

Heh...that line of logic was used on me many moons ago in one of my own games. Went with it and it never did any harm.

User avatar
Floyd Yoder
Novice
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 8:33 pm
Location: Seaside, Ca

#9 Postby Floyd Yoder » Thu Dec 18, 2008 1:42 pm

So really the only way you can use raisin the pot on a quickness roll would be if you were a tempest, right? As it is you roll, spend a chip on the power, and then resolve.
They can't really hear us if they're dead, so what's the problem?

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19839
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

#10 Postby Clint » Thu Dec 18, 2008 2:13 pm

Floyd Yoder wrote:So really the only way you can use raisin the pot on a quickness roll would be if you were a tempest, right? As it is you roll, spend a chip on the power, and then resolve.


Sorry, but nope. Tempest powers still have the same speed as the hex they use regardless of the difference in how they are activated, and so the same reason Raisin' the Pot can never be used for initiative rolls noted above still applies.
Clint Black

Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager



www.peginc.com


Return to “Deadlands: The Weird West”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests