Withdrawing from Combat

Just got your book, can't find a copy, have a cool adventure idea or story? Chat about it here.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Do you include the withdrawal rules when GMing an SW game?

Of course! What a dumb question.
Yes, because I think they are necessary.
Yes, but only under certain circumstances -- not as written.
No votes
No, because it slows things down too much.
No votes
Total votes: 12

User avatar
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 11:06 am

#21 Postby Nailom » Fri Sep 21, 2007 5:19 am

HawaiianBrian wrote:Another, related question:

So say you're squared off against five opponents. All of them are adjacent to you, even if that means diagonally. All five "withdraw" at the same time. Do you get five separate attacks? Or just one?

You get five.

Posts: 106
Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 1:52 am
Location: Sweden

#22 Postby Blackheart » Fri Sep 21, 2007 5:49 am

I agree. It may sound ridiculous, but you get five attacks (btw, how often would five guys fighting one retreat?).

As far as I've concerned in the "withdrawing-from-combat-using-a-spear" discussion, I would say the character is leaving Melee - no matter the range of his weapon - unless he is also attacking his opponent after his movement... Furthermore, if he retreats from 1" range (where he can attack his opponent but the foe cannot strike back due to his shorter reach), this will obviously not provoke a free attack.

... But I may be wrong - perhaps this would nerf Spears a bit?

Posts: 821
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 5:11 am
Location: Austria/Vienna

#23 Postby AFDia » Fri Sep 21, 2007 6:11 am

DerFinsterling wrote:
AFDia wrote:Summary: A guy with Reach1+ can retreat from any melee without inflicting a free attack.
Is this true? (this would make the staff more powerful for wizards and in combination with first strike, this would be a very good tactic)

Yes, it is - although some GMs may ask the player to space it out over two rounds, ie, round1 move one inch back, rouind 2 leave melee.
Otherwise you're really just leaving melee and since the actions happen so quickly, your opponent would still get a free attack.

Perhaps this would be the best solution because otherwise there is an edge in PotSM called Lunge which would allow you to retreat with every weapon without suffering a free attack.

An easy rule could be something like "You can retreat your Reach without suffering a free attack". This way you can use the "First Strike Tactic" and your teammates can replace you in combat (therefore it would work like the 1" retreat rule of d&d)

... but is this the official handling for Reach? ;)

User avatar
Site Admin
Posts: 19199
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

#24 Postby Clint » Fri Sep 21, 2007 8:27 am

Markus had it right (probably remembers my explanation from before on the forum ;)).

If the spear user moves more than their Reach from an opponent during a single action, then they have left melee and any opponent they were adjacent to in that round gets a free attack.

Remember a character's actions during a round are pretty much simultaneous, so effects are based off that. The system allows for the freedom to break down those "individual" actions as the player wishes (such as move then attack, attack then move, move a bit then attack then move a bit more, and so on...) but that's because while it may change a situational effect, it (typically) does not change the effect of the actual action.

Wow, that feels unclear. Hope it makes sense.

Ultimately, "leaving melee" can simply be defined as, "If at any point during your chosen movement for the round neither you nor your opponent would be capable of making a melee attack on each other."

Congratulations, you just left melee. :)
Last edited by Clint on Fri Sep 21, 2007 1:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager


Posts: 821
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 5:11 am
Location: Austria/Vienna

#25 Postby AFDia » Fri Sep 21, 2007 8:44 am

Thank you Clint.

I will simply edit "Whenever a character retreats from melee more than his weapon's reach in inches, all adjacent non-Shaken opponents get an immediate free attack" into the Withdrawing paragraph. This should be enough to avoid misunderstandings. :)

User avatar
Posts: 5677
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 4:26 pm
Location: Vienna, Austria

#26 Postby DerFinsterling » Fri Sep 21, 2007 9:16 am

Clint wrote:Markus had it right (probably remembers my explanation from before on the forum ;)).

Well, I only steal from the best ;-)
I thought I saw you explaining it before, but couldn't find it with one or two quick tries.

Return to “SW General Chat & Game Stories”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests