[TOD] Courage Under Fire

This topic is for rules questions related to products from Pinnacle outside the core rulebook (Settings, Companions, etc.). Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
Judge Holden
Seasoned
Posts: 380
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 7:58 am

[TOD] Courage Under Fire

#1 Postby Judge Holden » Wed Jul 25, 2007 9:27 am

"... the number of wounding attacks your character can ignore while standing
and commanding your troops."

I'm slightly confused by the wording of this edge. Does it mean a) you get a certain amount of wound levels that you can ignore, or does it mean b) that you can ignore a certain amount of wounding attacks, no matter how many wounds those attacks would inflict?

For example the commander gets shot in the head and it does 46+ damage and this works out to 10 wounds. This is only one attack, is that correct?

Also, what constitutes 'standing and commanding your troops'? Does the edge work if you are ambushed and you happen to be picking your nose and daydreaming so long as you are standing up and out in the open?
I once shot a man just to watch him die... but then I got distracted and missed it.

- Dave Foley

User avatar
Wiggy
Legendary
Posts: 5806
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2003 3:15 am
Location: TAG me. I dare you!

Re: [TOD] Courage Under Fire

#2 Postby Wiggy » Wed Jul 25, 2007 9:51 am

Judge Holden wrote:"... the number of wounding attacks your character can ignore while standing
and commanding your troops."

I'm slightly confused by the wording of this edge. Does it mean a) you get a certain amount of wound levels that you can ignore, or does it mean b) that you can ignore a certain amount of wounding attacks, no matter how many wounds those attacks would inflict?

For example the commander gets shot in the head and it does 46+ damage and this works out to 10 wounds. This is only one attack, is that correct?

Also, what constitutes 'standing and commanding your troops'? Does the edge work if you are ambushed and you happen to be picking your nose and daydreaming so long as you are standing up and out in the open?


It means "b." Your example is correct--that is a single attack. The number of wounds inflicted doesn't matter.

A daydreaming officer would not count as being in command. He isn't actively leading his men--they're simply following him. If he was warning them to watch their spacing and keep their eyes peeled, the bonus would apply. The latter is actively commanding.

The Edge basically rewards officers who lead from the front and fight with their men rather than lurking at the rear and shouting orders.


Wiggy
Wiggy
Creative Director Triple Ace Games

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19197
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: [TOD] Courage Under Fire

#3 Postby Clint » Wed Jul 25, 2007 10:10 am

Judge Holden wrote:For example the commander gets shot in the head and it does 46+ damage and this works out to 10 wounds. This is only one attack, is that correct?


Yes. Whether the attack does 1 wound or 10, it is a single attack for purposes of this Edge.

And just to further clarify, Soak rolls occur before damage is applied, so the player has to make that choice without knowing if he has any more uses of this Edge left.

Judge Holden wrote:Also, what constitutes 'standing and commanding your troops'? Does the edge work if you are ambushed and you happen to be picking your nose and daydreaming so long as you are standing up and out in the open?


Well, "picking your nose and daydreaming" doesn't sound like "commanding your troops" which is equally listed as a requirement. That said, unless the player is specifically stating that he is doing something counter to commanding his troops like that, then most likely the character is doing what is necessary to command his troops appropriately. If he does state an action like that, then the GM definitely has the perogative to tell him the Edge doesn't apply.

That does bring up one key requirement here though; if the character doesn't have any troops in his command radius (remember the increase for this Edge), then he would not get the benefit from the Edge.

Edit: Wiggy beat me to the punch. ;)
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Return to “Official Answers on How the Rules In Other Pinnacle Products Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest