Beserk and Spell Duration

This is the topic for asking questions about how the core rules officially work. Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
Nu_Fenix
Novice
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 2:32 pm

Beserk and Spell Duration

#1 Postby Nu_Fenix » Mon Feb 12, 2007 4:06 pm

Under the Beserk Edge it says that they cannot perform anything that requires concentration.

Now, what happens if they can also cast spells via one of the Arcane Backgrounds first, presuming they pass the required roll to keep spells up?
Would any spell they have immediately deactivate?
Would they last until the immediate duration wears off and they have to start paying PP to maintain, they cannot?

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19197
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: Beserk and Spell Duration

#2 Postby Clint » Mon Feb 12, 2007 4:30 pm

Nu_Fenix wrote:Under the Beserk Edge it says that they cannot perform anything that requires concentration.

Now, what happens if they can also cast spells via one of the Arcane Backgrounds first, presuming they pass the required roll to keep spells up?
Would any spell they have immediately deactivate?
Would they last until the immediate duration wears off and they have to start paying PP to maintain, they cannot?


If a character goes berserk, then all their spells would drop immediately after the attack that caused them to go berserk. It would work like this...

The character takes damage and immediately checks to see if he goes berserk. If he does, then he cannot use any skills that require concentration.

A spellcaster that suffers damage must make an Arcane Skill roll against the damage total to maintain concentration or all of his spells drop.

So once the character goes Berserk, he in essence automatically fails the roll to avoid his active spells being disrupted, and they drop.

In short, if you go berserk, all your spells deactivate.

Hope that helps!
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Return to “Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests