ACEing a roll

This is the topic for asking questions about how the core rules officially work. Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
User avatar
Theophage
Novice
Posts: 66
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 8:47 pm
Location: Tucson, AZ

ACEing a roll

#1 Postby Theophage » Tue Jan 16, 2007 1:30 pm

Now here's a question which is probably addressed somewhere else, but I'll be damned if I can find it.

The rule book says that when you ace a roll, say rolling a 6 on a d6, you roll again and add the result. The problem with this is that you can never roll a 6 on a d6 (or a 12, or an 18) using this method. Other games that use "exploding" dice rolls have you subtract one and then add, and this seems to make more sense.

So do I just add like the rules say, or was that an oversight?
...or not.

Daniel "Theophage" Clark
theophage (at) geocities (dot) com

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19831
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: ACEing a roll

#2 Postby Clint » Tue Jan 16, 2007 2:03 pm

Theophage wrote:Now here's a question which is probably addressed somewhere else, but I'll be damned if I can find it.

The rule book says that when you ace a roll, say rolling a 6 on a d6, you roll again and add the result. The problem with this is that you can never roll a 6 on a d6 (or a 12, or an 18) using this method. Other games that use "exploding" dice rolls have you subtract one and then add, and this seems to make more sense.

So do I just add like the rules say, or was that an oversight?


Nope, do it just like the rules say. Not being able to roll a multiple of an exact die type has no effect on the system overall, so there is no "problem" associated with it.

One of the tricky parts of SW is that it often isn't just a matter of how any specific rule works, but how different rules all work together as a whole. It's kind of commonplace in the system, but with a little time it becomes fairly apparent.

Hope this helps!
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Return to “Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests