still a little confused

This is the topic for asking questions about how the core rules officially work. Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
antarion
Novice
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 10:13 pm

still a little confused

#1 Postby antarion » Mon Dec 18, 2006 11:53 pm

thanks, clint, for the explanation but i'm still just a little confused. from what i can gather, a guy who's shaken is injured, distracted, or otherwise in a position where he can't do anything until he recovers. therefore, if he can't fight, or do anything else wouldn't it follow that he can't avoid attacks to his full ability, either (even though, techncially, defending doesn't count as an action)?

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19836
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: still a little confused

#2 Postby Clint » Tue Dec 19, 2006 9:50 am

antarion wrote:thanks, clint, for the explanation but i'm still just a little confused. from what i can gather, a guy who's shaken is injured, distracted, or otherwise in a position where he can't do anything until he recovers. therefore, if he can't fight, or do anything else wouldn't it follow that he can't avoid attacks to his full ability, either (even though, techncially, defending doesn't count as an action)?


My previous explanation seemed to cause more confusion, but let me try again. Think of it like this...

A character who is Shaken can't take any other actions because all he is doing is defending himself.

It's kind of like the Defend manuever where a character can get a bonus to Parry but can't take any other actions. Well, when Shaken, a character automatically goes on the defensive which prevents their Parry from going down, but they can't take any other actions (and their Pace is reduced as well).

In effect, all the math is pre-done because it's unavoidable, so the game simply explains what the final result is (a Shaken result causes X).

Hope that makes more sense.
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Return to “Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests