Various Questions

This is the topic for asking questions about how the core rules officially work. Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
User avatar
R2Keen2
Novice
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 10:54 pm
Location: Burnt-Over District

#1 Postby R2Keen2 » Wed Dec 13, 2006 10:34 am

I can't find anything about multiple skill attempts. Are you able to try multiple times even after a failure. If your Lockpicking is at d8 and you end up rolling double 2s or something else insufficent(but odds say you could do better or it wasn't one of your best[being the size of your die] attempts), would you get a sense that you might be able to do better if you try again, or does the character just automaticly believe the lock is beyond his ability?

Base Movement is a free action, if a character is on hold, does that mean he is more or less rooted to the spot or can he move even just one inch and be on hold.. or take the movement and return to hold?

The rules for leaving combat seems kind of out of place with the lack of anything similar on the subject.. If the character is fighting two people but moves around one, which distances himself from the other he's left combat with one of them but not technicly left combat. Does the movement call a attack from one, both or neither?

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19829
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

#2 Postby Clint » Wed Dec 13, 2006 12:19 pm

R2Keen2 wrote:I can't find anything about multiple skill attempts. Are you able to try multiple times even after a failure. If your Lockpicking is at d8 and you end up rolling double 2s or something else insufficent(but odds say you could do better or it wasn't one of your best[being the size of your die] attempts), would you get a sense that you might be able to do better if you try again, or does the character just automaticly believe the lock is beyond his ability?


Nothing generally prevents multiple attempts except perhaps the consequences of failure. In other words, if the character needs to pick the lock before the guard comes around the corner on the next round, then that's a consequence of failure. Also, the GM could disallow additional attempts as the result of a critical failure, but that's a judgement call.

Typically the only limitation on multiple attempts would be the time required to retry.


R2Keen2 wrote:Base Movement is a free action, if a character is on hold, does that mean he is more or less rooted to the spot or can he move even just one inch and be on hold.. or take the movement and return to hold?


A character on Hold is holding his entire action. Until they choose to act, they can't perform any action (even free ones such as movement), and at that point they resolve all of their actions.


R2Keen2 wrote:The rules for leaving combat seems kind of out of place with the lack of anything similar on the subject.. If the character is fighting two people but moves around one, which distances himself from the other he's left combat with one of them but not technicly left combat. Does the movement call a attack from one, both or neither?


Basically, it all comes down to this...

Whomever the character leaves melee combat with, gets a free attack.

So if fighting two opponents and the character moves out of melee with one of them, that one gets a free attack but not the other.

Hope this helps. If something isn't clear, just let me know.
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Return to “Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests