Questions!

This is the topic for asking questions about how the core rules officially work. Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
jrmullen
Novice
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 11:13 am

Questions!

#1 Postby jrmullen » Wed Nov 29, 2006 11:23 am

Howdy folks. Just a couple of questions that arose from my first test run with the rules.

First, in Deadlands Classic, there was a hit location table - is there one for this game, too, or are all wounds considered to hit the chest unless called?

Second, the rules state that for a raise on Shooting or Fighting or what have you, you get a +1d6 on the damage. Is this per raise, or just once? IF the latter, is there any benefit to additional raises?

User avatar
Wiggy
Legendary
Posts: 5813
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2003 3:15 am
Location: TAG me. I dare you!

Re: Questions!

#2 Postby Wiggy » Wed Nov 29, 2006 11:56 am

jrmullen wrote:Howdy folks. Just a couple of questions that arose from my first test run with the rules.

First, in Deadlands Classic, there was a hit location table - is there one for this game, too, or are all wounds considered to hit the chest unless called?

Second, the rules state that for a raise on Shooting or Fighting or what have you, you get a +1d6 on the damage. Is this per raise, or just once? IF the latter, is there any benefit to additional raises?


There's no hit table. The torso is the default target area if you don't declare a Called Shot.

It's just a single d6. There's no official benefit for multiple raises, but there's nothing to stop you house-ruling +d6 per raise.


Wiggy
Wiggy
Creative Director Triple Ace Games

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19594
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: Questions!

#3 Postby Clint » Wed Nov 29, 2006 12:11 pm

jrmullen wrote:Howdy folks. Just a couple of questions that arose from my first test run with the rules.


Hi back, and welcome to the forums!

jrmullen wrote:First, in Deadlands Classic, there was a hit location table - is there one for this game, too, or are all wounds considered to hit the chest unless called?


Pretty much the latter. Unless a Called Shot is made, damage is typically treated as hitting the torso.

Mostly though, hit location isn't an issue unless the character suffers a serious injury, so the Injury Table has a roll to determine the location and specific effect when the character is that badly damaged.

If the attack that sends the target to the Injury Table was a Called Shot, then just use that specific location. Otherwise, the GM can make the call or roll randomly.

If the random location might have changed the initial results (such as an arm hit when the target's Toughness included torso Armor), the GM can again adjust the result as he sees fit, or he can adjust the description of the effect. For instance, "The shot ricochets off your armor... unfortunately it ricochets directly into your upper arm shattering bone and ripping through the muscle."

jrmullen wrote:Second, the rules state that for a raise on Shooting or Fighting or what have you, you get a +1d6 on the damage. Is this per raise, or just once? IF the latter, is there any benefit to additional raises?


It is a +1d6 for a single raise, no effect beyond that (and it does not apply to area effect weapons for further clarification).

There is no benefit for additional raises unless the character has something special (like an Edge, weapon, racial ability, etc...) that would allow such (which would be in the description of the "something special").

To explain, this has two main game effects.

1. Speed. There's no reason to continue to roll Aces on an attack roll once a single raise has been achieved. The player can move on to damage where multiple aces could be more useful (against a Wild Card at least).

2. Called Shots. A character who is especially skilled will be inclined to make Called Shots for additional damage and/or Armor bypassing as opposed to depending on multiple raises for the same basic effect.


Hope this helps, and again, welcome! If anything isn't clear or you have any other questions, just let us know.
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Return to “Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests