Active Powers and Penalties

This is the topic for asking questions about how the core rules officially work. Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
Gammon23
Novice
Posts: 85
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 10:30 pm

Active Powers and Penalties

#1 Postby Gammon23 » Thu Nov 08, 2012 10:31 pm

The rules state that for each power a character he/she has active a penalty is applied to future arcane skill rolls. So that includes multiple castings of the same power right? In other words if someone used the boost power on an ally, and maintained it, and wished to boost him/her even further, and maintain it, each additionally maintained use of the boost power would increase the penalty to arcane skill rolls?

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19193
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: Active Powers and Penalties

#2 Postby Clint » Mon Nov 12, 2012 9:14 am

Gammon23 wrote:The rules state that for each power a character he/she has active a penalty is applied to future arcane skill rolls. So that includes multiple castings of the same power right? In other words if someone used the boost power on an ally, and maintained it, and wished to boost him/her even further, and maintain it, each additionally maintained use of the boost power would increase the penalty to arcane skill rolls?


To be clear, it's each power that is maintained not each power that is active; two different things (a power is maintained only after its initial duration is up).

That said, each power maintained does indeed count multiple uses of the same power separately. So a character who had 3 Boost Traits maintained would be -3 to arcane skill rolls.
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Return to “Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests