Size and Grappling

This is the topic for asking questions about how the core rules officially work. Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
Gammon23
Novice
Posts: 85
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 10:30 pm

Size and Grappling

#1 Postby Gammon23 » Fri Oct 26, 2012 8:44 pm

The rules state that a huge creature takes a -4 penalty to attack a standard size creature while a standard sized creature would get + 4 versus a huge size creature. So if a dragon attempted to grapple a standard sized creature it would take a penalty on its opposed fighting roll, while the creature it is trying to grapple would get a bonus on its opposed fighting roll, to avoid being grappled? So it is as though the dragon would be at a -8 penalty to start a grapple?

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19848
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: Size and Grappling

#2 Postby Clint » Fri Oct 26, 2012 10:55 pm

Gammon23 wrote:The rules state that a huge creature takes a -4 penalty to attack a standard size creature while a standard sized creature would get + 4 versus a huge size creature. So if a dragon attempted to grapple a standard sized creature it would take a penalty on its opposed fighting roll, while the creature it is trying to grapple would get a bonus on its opposed fighting roll, to avoid being grappled? So it is as though the dragon would be at a -8 penalty to start a grapple?


Nope, the bonus/penalty only applies to actual attacks not all uses of combat skills such as resisting an opposed roll.

So the dragon is making the roll to attack, so it does suffer the penalty, but the target is not attacking the dragon, they are making a roll resist an attack, and they do not get the bonus.
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Return to “Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest