Swarms - when does damage get rolled?

This is the topic for asking questions about how the core rules officially work. Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
Wibbs
Veteran
Posts: 770
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 5:15 pm
Location: London

Swarms - when does damage get rolled?

#1 Postby Wibbs » Mon Oct 08, 2012 7:49 am

Hey,

If a character starts their turn not in a swarm, runs right through it and then ends up out the other side, does the swarm get a chance to do any damage to them?

Logically I would say yes, but based on other questions that clarify a swarm is treated as one creature for attack purposes, they answer could well be no.

Thanks,

Wibbs

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19193
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: Swarms - when does damage get rolled?

#2 Postby Clint » Mon Oct 08, 2012 8:57 am

Wibbs wrote:If a character starts their turn not in a swarm, runs right through it and then ends up out the other side, does the swarm get a chance to do any damage to them?

Logically I would say yes, but based on other questions that clarify a swarm is treated as one creature for attack purposes, they answer could well be no.


Damage for a swarm is rolled on their action (unless they get a free attack for some reason like a character leaving close combat as discussed in a thread below).

So yeah, it would be theoretically possible to run through a swarm without being "effectively" attacked. However, such swarms would almost be a textbook definition of Difficult Ground, halving movement, so unless the character is just cutting a corner, rolls very well on their Running die, or is naturally fast, it's entirely possible not to make it all the way (the decision to run through is made before rolling the die not after).

And even if they do make it through, it'd be even more unlikely to move so far going through the swarm that the swarm can't simply take its action to move to affect the character that just got its attention. :twisted: :wink:

Again though, it's possible and could be cool in a dramatic situation, but usually not the best tactical choice unless desperate.
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Return to “Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests