The Drop and being shaken

This is the topic for asking questions about how the core rules officially work. Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
User avatar
Wilborg
Novice
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 5:27 pm
Contact:

The Drop and being shaken

#1 Postby Wilborg » Sun Sep 30, 2012 3:10 am

Hi there,

i have a question about having The Drop and being Shaken.
An evil vagabond holds his knife at the throat of a beautiful maiden. He gets the Drop on her and says to the incomming knight: "Lay down your weapon and surrender or i will kill this girl". The knight decides to attack the vagabond. He wins the Agility roll vs. the bandit and his attack is successful. The damage is enough to shaken the vagabond. He looses his On Hold status because of being shaken. Does he also loose the Drop? The vagabond must immediately make a spirit roll to recover from being shaken. He gets a raise (or spends a Bennie) and is able act normally. He still wants to kill the girl.
Does he still have the Drop benefit (+4 damage +4 attack) or must he make a normal attack roll with his knife to kill his victim?

thanks
Wilborg

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19836
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: The Drop and being shaken

#2 Postby Clint » Mon Oct 01, 2012 8:30 am

Wilborg wrote:i have a question about having The Drop and being Shaken.
An evil vagabond holds his knife at the throat of a beautiful maiden. He gets the Drop on her and says to the incomming knight: "Lay down your weapon and surrender or i will kill this girl". The knight decides to attack the vagabond. He wins the Agility roll vs. the bandit and his attack is successful. The damage is enough to shaken the vagabond. He looses his On Hold status because of being shaken. Does he also loose the Drop? The vagabond must immediately make a spirit roll to recover from being shaken. He gets a raise (or spends a Bennie) and is able act normally. He still wants to kill the girl.
Does he still have the Drop benefit (+4 damage +4 attack) or must he make a normal attack roll with his knife to kill his victim?


Well, first off, the "vagabond" would not have been on Hold once the Agility roll was made. At that point, the character decided to take his action and was making the Opposed Agility roll to see who took their action first. So he could not lose his Hold status since it was already "dropped" to make the Agility roll.

In that situation, the rest of the premise could follow as the "vagabond" would resolve his actions immediately after the "knight." If Shaken, he would need a raise on the Spirit roll or spending a Benny to act that round.

The question to whether he still has the Drop depends on when his target acts. If the "maiden" is an allied NPC acting on the knight's initiative, then she as well would act before the "vagabond," and since actions can be resolved in any order, she could move away from him after he was Shaken, resulting in no attack (and no attack for leaving close combat since he is Shaken). Once she was no longer in the hostage position, the Drop would be lost of course.

If for some reason, she acted after the "vagabond" with the Drop on her, then yes, if he got a raise on the Spirit roll or spent a Benny to remove the Shaken condition and still act that round, he could choose to attack with The Drop.

Just for completeness sake, if he had chosen to remain on Hold for some reason when the "knight" attacked, when Shaken he would not only have lost his Shaken status but all actions for that round. He would have to spend a Benny immediately to retain his action.
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Return to “Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Alrik_vas and 1 guest