Cover from Shields

This is the topic for asking questions about how the core rules officially work. Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
User avatar
GruffaloCrumble
Seasoned
Posts: 334
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2011 7:11 pm

Cover from Shields

#1 Postby GruffaloCrumble » Thu Sep 27, 2012 8:08 am

As well as the standard bonus to Parry and Toughness (against ranged attacks), does someone with a shield also benefit from a cover modifier, dependent on the size of the shield?

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 20016
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: Cover from Shields

#2 Postby Clint » Thu Sep 27, 2012 8:24 am

GruffaloCrumble wrote:As well as the standard bonus to Parry and Toughness (against ranged attacks), does someone with a shield also benefit from a cover modifier, dependent on the size of the shield?


Nope. The Toughness bonus presumes they are already blocking with the shield (on that side) as it is under their control as opposed to being inanimate cover.

An attacker could attempt to bypass the shield with a Called Shot, in which case the penalty would likely match up to equivalent cover, but they don't suffer an innate penalty to hit because the character has a shield.
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Return to “Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests