Stacking 'Scholar'

This is the topic for asking questions about how the core rules officially work. Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
User avatar
Lysander
Seasoned
Posts: 448
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 4:14 pm
Location: San Antonio, Texas

Stacking 'Scholar'

#1 Postby Lysander » Thu Sep 13, 2012 5:53 pm

Can you stack successive 'Scholar' edges to the same 2 Knowledge Skills so as to get a +4 with each (and +6 w/ 3 edges stacked, and so on...) or do you have to pick 2 other Knowledges to apply a 2nd Scholar edge to...?
There is no problem in this Universe that can't be solved with the application of roasted porcine flesh...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wSReSGe200A

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19376
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: Stacking 'Scholar'

#2 Postby Clint » Fri Sep 14, 2012 8:03 am

Lysander wrote:Can you stack successive 'Scholar' edges to the same 2 Knowledge Skills so as to get a +4 with each (and +6 w/ 3 edges stacked, and so on...) or do you have to pick 2 other Knowledges to apply a 2nd Scholar edge to...?


Short version; nope, it's not possible.

Long version; first and most importantly, the Edge never states it can be taken more than once, and as noted in the introduction to Edges, "Unless an Edge specifically says otherwise, it may only be selected once." Scholars get to be an expert in two fields; they should be chosen carefully.

Secondly, even if it is allowed to take the Edge more than once, stacking Professional Edges is covered in the introduction to that type, stating, "Stacking: Bonuses to the same Trait from different Professional Edges do not stack."

And since that reference does expect that those Edges can't be taken more than once (thus they would have to be "different"), it would also apply to the same Edge taken more than once as that would be a different instance of that Edge.
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Return to “Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests