Fistful of Reach Weapons

This is the topic for asking questions about how the core rules officially work. Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
User avatar
Volt875
Seasoned
Posts: 136
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 3:59 pm

Fistful of Reach Weapons

#1 Postby Volt875 » Sun Aug 26, 2012 11:18 am

Hello people at Pinnacle, back yet again with a couple more questions.

1) Damage for a punch or kick is just Str right? Where, if anywhere, does it say it in the book?
2) This is a question about the free attack granted by moving out of combat and reach weapons. Lets say your attacking at reach while your ally engages the enemy in melee. The enemy goes to retreat, do you get a free swipe or just your ally who is engaged in melee? (I suppose this question could be simplified to being does attacking with reach count as being engaged in melee.)

Once again thank you for your time.


P.S. It's still cool :blam:

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 20016
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: Fistful of Reach Weapons

#2 Postby Clint » Mon Aug 27, 2012 10:28 am

Volt875 wrote:1) Damage for a punch or kick is just Str right? Where, if anywhere, does it say it in the book?


It's noted under Damage in the Combat section (pg. 67 of SWD or page 76 of SWDEx)...

"Unarmed Combat Damage: An unarmed combatant rolls only his Strength die."


Volt875 wrote:2) This is a question about the free attack granted by moving out of combat and reach weapons. Lets say your attacking at reach while your ally engages the enemy in melee. The enemy goes to retreat, do you get a free swipe or just your ally who is engaged in melee? (I suppose this question could be simplified to being does attacking with reach count as being engaged in melee.)


The rule relates to "Close Combat" and notes specifically, "all adjacent non-Shaken opponents" get a free attack. The foe has to be adjacent to get the free attack, and attacking from Reach by definition makes a character not adjacent, so they would not get the free attack.

That said, attacking at Reach does mean a character is still engaged in melee; they just aren't adjacent. So a character with a spear for example can back 1" away from an adjacent foe and not trigger a free attack (as long as they don't move farther than their reach and remain "in melee" the same round they moved).
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Return to “Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest