does bolt = range tn

This is the topic for asking questions about how the core rules officially work. Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
Billystarfish
Novice
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 11:46 pm

does bolt = range tn

#1 Postby Billystarfish » Tue Aug 21, 2012 3:47 am

After reading a bit through other peoples questions I'm a bit confused as to whether or not you count a bolt spell has a ranged attack at a short distance TN of 4 or so on depenting on distance? I understand you count the casting roll as both the ability to successfully conjure the spell and as a measurement of success to hit the opponent. That goes against the ranged TN of 4 and not their Parry, correct?[/quote]

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19736
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: does bolt = range tn

#2 Postby Clint » Tue Aug 21, 2012 1:51 pm

Billystarfish wrote:After reading a bit through other peoples questions I'm a bit confused as to whether or not you count a bolt spell has a ranged attack at a short distance TN of 4 or so on depenting on distance? I understand you count the casting roll as both the ability to successfully conjure the spell and as a measurement of success to hit the opponent. That goes against the ranged TN of 4 and not their Parry, correct?


Mostly.

As noted under Range for Powers <italics added>, "If a power lists three Ranges, such as 12/24/48, these are read just like missile weapon Ranges, and subtract the standard penalties for each Range bracket (0/–2/–4). The arcane character’s skill roll acts as both his “casting” and attack total for these type powers."

So it works like missile weapons, meaning yes, they typically face the standard TN of 4 to hit but with all modifiers that would apply to ranged attacks (range, cover, darkness, etc.) applied to the "attack total" (not casting total).

But that could mean that if a target was adjacent to the caster the bolt would be subject to the rule on Ranged Weapons in Close Combat, and they would face Parry to hit the target instead of a 4.

Hope that helps.
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Return to “Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests