Melee Combat Damage and Wild Dice?

This is the topic for asking questions about how the core rules officially work. Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
User avatar
sirkerry
Novice
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 1:41 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Melee Combat Damage and Wild Dice?

#1 Postby sirkerry » Thu Aug 09, 2012 8:44 pm

I came across this sentence in a 3rd party SW product tonight:
Remember that melee weapon damage does not include a Wild Die


Is this correct? I was taught that whenever a melee weapon lists for example STR + d6 as it's damage and when it's a Wild Card character rolling the damage they'd roll whatever their STR die is along with their Wild Die and take the highest value.
-Kerry Harrison
Organizer, Space City Savages
Running: 50 Fathoms
Prepping: several different scenarios
Playing: New Year's War Playtest

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19593
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: Melee Combat Damage and Wild Dice?

#2 Postby Clint » Fri Aug 10, 2012 7:29 am

sirkerry wrote:I came across this sentence in a 3rd party SW product tonight:
Remember that melee weapon damage does not include a Wild Die


Is this correct? I was taught that whenever a melee weapon lists for example STR + d6 as it's damage and when it's a Wild Card character rolling the damage they'd roll whatever their STR die is along with their Wild Die and take the highest value.


That is correct as noted under Damage (pg. 67 of SWD)...

"Even though Strength is used to determine melee damage, this isn’t a Trait roll. Wild Cards don’t add a Wild Die to the roll and they can’t spend Bennies if they’re unhappy with the results."
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Return to “Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher and 0 guests