[50F] Elemental Protection

This topic is for rules questions related to products from Pinnacle outside the core rulebook (Settings, Companions, etc.). Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
Tavis
Heroic
Posts: 1040
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 12:39 pm
Location: Macclesfield UK

[50F] Elemental Protection

#1 Postby Tavis » Mon Aug 06, 2012 7:23 pm

The trappings for Elemental Protection (air) state that the character can breathe without air, in poison gas etc.

Does this imply therefore that an Air mage with Elemental Protection can breathe underwater, or is that the sole domain of Water mages?

I would surmise that the Water mage would also get the benefit of not needing to use Swimming to move around in the water, not be affected by pressure from depth, suffer from the bends etc. whereas all of those would still be a problem for the Air mage that 'just' gets the benefit of being able to breathe.

I'm certainly able to make a call on it as a GM, but I'm curious as to what the official answer is nonetheless.
Currently Playing:

SWD: Savage Mystara (GM)

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19199
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: [50F] Elemental Protection

#2 Postby Clint » Tue Aug 07, 2012 12:23 pm

Tavis wrote:The trappings for Elemental Protection (air) state that the character can breathe without air, in poison gas etc.

Does this imply therefore that an Air mage with Elemental Protection can breathe underwater, or is that the sole domain of Water mages?

I would surmise that the Water mage would also get the benefit of not needing to use Swimming to move around in the water, not be affected by pressure from depth, suffer from the bends etc. whereas all of those would still be a problem for the Air mage that 'just' gets the benefit of being able to breathe.


As the power notes in the beginning, "The mage is only protected against the effects of his element..."

So an Air mage couldn't really "breathe underwater" since that's protection from the environment of water, not air. However, a GM might allow an air mage to "hold their breath" indefinitely while under the effect of the power. It would mean in addition to all the other effects of being underwater, that the subject could not speak as well (which would preclude spellcasting).
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Return to “Official Answers on How the Rules In Other Pinnacle Products Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests