Disrupting maintained powers

This is the topic for asking questions about how the core rules officially work. Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
Persippe
Novice
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 2:26 am
Location: Biella, Italy

Disrupting maintained powers

#1 Postby Persippe » Fri Aug 03, 2012 3:30 am

"A character who is actively maintaining a power may be disrupted if he suffers damage" SWD p. 103

1: a 9 toughness WC suffers 9 points of damage, becoming shaken

Does he have to roll spellcasting skill Vs TN 9 in order to avoid disruption?
If yes, can he soak before to reduce TN in some way, even if soak rolls are usually only about wounds (and he didn't take any)?

2: a 6 toughness WC (A) suffers 10 point of damage, taking a wound & his friend 14 toughness WC (B) suffers 18 points of damage, taking a wound.
If I understand correctly they both took 1 wound, and they both have to roll to avoid disruption, but TN for WC (A) is 10, while TN for WC (B) is 18, correct? how does soaking interacts with this situation?

thank you Clint

Nicolas

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19758
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: Disrupting maintained powers

#2 Postby Clint » Mon Aug 06, 2012 9:24 am

Persippe wrote:"A character who is actively maintaining a power may be disrupted if he suffers damage" SWD p. 103

1: a 9 toughness WC suffers 9 points of damage, becoming shaken

Does he have to roll spellcasting skill Vs TN 9 in order to avoid disruption?


Yes.

Persippe wrote:If yes, can he soak before to reduce TN in some way, even if soak rolls are usually only about wounds (and he didn't take any)?


He doesn't have to "soak," as a Benny can automatically remove a Shaken effect at any point. Removing the Shaken before it's applied means the character has not "suffered any damage" and would not have to roll.

Persippe wrote:2: a 6 toughness WC (A) suffers 10 point of damage, taking a wound & his friend 14 toughness WC (B) suffers 18 points of damage, taking a wound.
If I understand correctly they both took 1 wound, and they both have to roll to avoid disruption, but TN for WC (A) is 10, while TN for WC (B) is 18, correct? how does soaking interacts with this situation?


It's one wound; if they Soak it, they suffer no damage and no disruption occurs.

If it was more than one wound, and the character did not Soak all of them, so they still suffer some damage, then I'd just subtract 4 for each wound removed by the Soak roll from the damage result to determine the TN to avoid disruption.

So Toughness 6 character is hit for 15 points of damage (2 wounds) and Soaks 1 of the wounds. He has to roll against an 11 (15-4) to avoid disruption. If he had Soaked both of them, he wouldn't have to roll at all since he wouldn't even be Shaken.
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Return to “Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests