Jetpack Jockey Flyby Melee Attack Question

This is the topic for asking questions about how the core rules officially work. Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
pcrh
Novice
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 1:05 pm

Jetpack Jockey Flyby Melee Attack Question

#1 Postby pcrh » Sun Aug 05, 2012 1:34 pm

If a jetpack jockey flies past an opponent and makes a melee attack as he moves by, some questions arise:

- can the jockey keep moving after his melee attack, ending his move somewhere out of melee range from his target?
- if the jockey can keep moving after his attack, does his target get a free attack on the jockey since the jockey is disengaging from melee as he flies past?

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19736
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: Jetpack Jockey Flyby Melee Attack Question

#2 Postby Clint » Mon Aug 06, 2012 10:22 am

pcrh wrote:If a jetpack jockey flies past an opponent and makes a melee attack as he moves by, some questions arise:

- can the jockey keep moving after his melee attack, ending his move somewhere out of melee range from his target?
- if the jockey can keep moving after his attack, does his target get a free attack on the jockey since the jockey is disengaging from melee as he flies past?


As with the other question, there is no "jetpack" in the core rules, so any specifics related to its use would depend on how it actually worked in the setting it exists in.

In general though, a character can resolve their actions at any point during their movement. So given a Pace of 6", a character could move 2", attack, and then move up to 4" more.

And yes, if a character makes a melee attack on another character they move adjacent to and then continues to move past them, they pretty much exemplify the very definition of withdrawing from close combat. As long as the target was not Shaken, he would get a free attack.

Hope that helps.
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Return to “Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests