More Summon Ally Questions =)

This is the topic for asking questions about how the core rules officially work. Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
icebrand
Novice
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 6:09 pm

More Summon Ally Questions =)

#1 Postby icebrand » Wed Jul 11, 2012 11:57 am

I have the Strong Willed edge, with d6 taunt and intimidate, does my mirror self get D6, D4+2, or D4 on those skills?

In a similar fashion, i have Professional and Expert in Spellcasting, and a "modified" Ace edge (applies to riding only!). Does she get d12+1, or just a d10 (d10+2?) on those skills?

Thanks in advance!!!

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19831
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: More Summon Ally Questions =)

#2 Postby Clint » Wed Jul 11, 2012 1:05 pm

icebrand wrote:I have the Strong Willed edge, with d6 taunt and intimidate, does my mirror self get D6, D4+2, or D4 on those skills?


It reduces the Trait; it doesn't affect flat bonuses from Edges. So it would be d4+2 (for the Edge).

icebrand wrote:In a similar fashion, i have Professional and Expert in Spellcasting, and a "modified" Ace edge (applies to riding only!). Does she get d12+1, or just a d10 (d10+2?) on those skills?


Ace would work the same (as would most other Edges), but Professional and Expert would not.

Similar as they appear, the Professional and Expert Edges specifically state that the "Trait becomes" the new level. It's not a flat bonus but an actual change to the Trait and thus reduced for a Mirror Self.

So a caster with Expert (d12+2) in a Trait that used Summon Ally for a Mirror Self would have an Extra effectively with Professional in that Trait (d12+1).

Hope that helps!
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Return to “Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests