The Multiple Languages Rule and the Linguist Edge

This is the topic for asking questions about how the core rules officially work. Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
User avatar
TheCapedCrusader
Novice
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2009 12:14 am

The Multiple Languages Rule and the Linguist Edge

#1 Postby TheCapedCrusader » Mon Jul 09, 2012 10:45 pm

I am curious how to handle these two together.

In a game without Multiple Languages, a person with a Smarts d8 gets 8 languages for taking the Linguist edge.

In a game where the Multiple Languages rule is in play, the same hero already gets 5 languages (native language + half Smarts) to begin with. If they add the Linguist Edge, do they get 3 more languages to bring it to 8, or do they get 8 additional languages?

Thanks!

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 20016
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: The Multiple Languages Rule and the Linguist Edge

#2 Postby Clint » Tue Jul 10, 2012 8:45 am

TheCapedCrusader wrote:I am curious how to handle these two together.

In a game without Multiple Languages, a person with a Smarts d8 gets 8 languages for taking the Linguist edge.

In a game where the Multiple Languages rule is in play, the same hero already gets 5 languages (native language + half Smarts) to begin with. If they add the Linguist Edge, do they get 3 more languages to bring it to 8, or do they get 8 additional languages?


Well, actually, they would get 4 more languages. In both sets of rules, characters get their native language for free. Multiple Languages allows for additional languages equal to half Smarts and Linguist allows for additional languages equal to Smarts.

So a character with a d8 Smarts would get 4 additional languages for free and 4 more if they had Linguist.

But whether the Edge is allowed or works the same is going to be up to the GM. Using the Setting Rules examples can alter or even negate certain Edges (like No Mercy when using Bood & Guts or Wizard when using No Power Points).

The Linguist Edge could be used as is with the Multiple Languages rule as it would double the number of additional Languages in addition to providing the ability to potentially communicate in unknown languages as well, but the final decision would be up to the GM.
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Return to “Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests