[NE] [SPC] Altered Form question

This topic is for rules questions related to products from Pinnacle outside the core rulebook (Settings, Companions, etc.). Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
User avatar
yynderjohn
Novice
Posts: 85
Joined: Wed May 30, 2007 11:32 am

[NE] [SPC] Altered Form question

#1 Postby yynderjohn » Thu Apr 19, 2012 1:36 pm

Is the armor that is granted by Altered form subject to the AP ability of a weapon? for example, I have a super who turns into pure fire so he would get +4 armor vs physical attacks. He gets shot by a sniper rifle with AP4. Does the sniper rifles AP work? This would effectively give the fire form no benefit against most ranged weapons used in the NE campaign.
Thanks!
John D

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 20016
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: [NE] [SPC] Altered Form question

#2 Postby Clint » Thu Apr 19, 2012 2:55 pm

yynderjohn wrote:Is the armor that is granted by Altered form subject to the AP ability of a weapon? for example, I have a super who turns into pure fire so he would get +4 armor vs physical attacks.


Actually, if he turns into fire, a form of energy, he gets +4 Armor against other energy attacks and no armor against physical attacks.

With GM approval, it could easily be switched around, but just noting it's not a given that the character gets that.

yynderjohn wrote:He gets shot by a sniper rifle with AP4. Does the sniper rifles AP work? This would effectively give the fire form no benefit against most ranged weapons used in the NE campaign.


It's Armor, so it can be bypassed with Armor Piercing.

Ranged weapons with AP 4 will bypass it, but most melee weapons max at AP 2 and would still face 2 points of Armor. Additionally, it would mean if the character took the Armor power as well, they don't have to overcome the "normal" AP levels and are pretty much adding directly to their Toughness.

It should also be noted that in NE blasters are energy weapons that do kinetic damage, so either version of Altered Form would apply its protection against them.
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Return to “Official Answers on How the Rules In Other Pinnacle Products Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Hub and 0 guests