Incapacitated rolling

This is the topic for asking questions about how the core rules officially work. Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
DungeonMaster666
Novice
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2012 8:44 am

Incapacitated rolling

#1 Postby DungeonMaster666 » Sat Jan 07, 2012 7:47 am

It says that for each wound a Wild Card gets they receive -1 to trait rolls, does this mean that a character who becomes incapacitated via wounds has -3 to all their subsequent Vigor based rolls to recover?

I'm assuming yes, but I only want to check because its makes a big difference to the probability of dying, which is kinda a biggy. :twisted: A character with a Vigor of D4 would need to Ace just to stay alive?

I suppose in real terms the probability of dying is much lower because a player would spend Bennys before they ever got to this point(?)

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 20018
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: Incapacitated rolling

#2 Postby Clint » Mon Jan 09, 2012 9:28 am

DungeonMaster666 wrote:It says that for each wound a Wild Card gets they receive -1 to trait rolls, does this mean that a character who becomes incapacitated via wounds has -3 to all their subsequent Vigor based rolls to recover?


Yep (unless they have Hard to Kill, Nerves of Steel, or some other ability to ignore wound penalties).

DungeonMaster666 wrote:I'm assuming yes, but I only want to check because its makes a big difference to the probability of dying, which is kinda a biggy. :twisted: A character with a Vigor of D4 would need to Ace just to stay alive?


With nothing else affecting it, they would need to Ace the d4, but the Incapacitation rolls only occur for Wild Cards, so the character would also be rolling a d6 Wild die too which would avoid instant death on a 5 or 6.

DungeonMaster666 wrote:I suppose in real terms the probability of dying is much lower because a player would spend Bennys before they ever got to this point(?)


Or they save a Benny or Bennies to spend on the Incapacitation roll. Even with the lowest d4 Vigor, the character has a 50/50 chance of avoiding instant death. One Benny ups that to 75%, two to 87.5%. And again, that's for the character voted most likely to die. ;)
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Return to “Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests