[50FExEd]L'Ollonais' Enchanted Saber damage?

This topic is for rules questions related to products from Pinnacle outside the core rulebook (Settings, Companions, etc.). Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
User avatar
TheLoremaster
Legendary
Posts: 2069
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2003 9:53 am
Location: Buffalo, NY
Contact:

[50FExEd]L'Ollonais' Enchanted Saber damage?

#1 Postby TheLoremaster » Fri Nov 25, 2011 2:58 pm

In the original 50 Fathoms book, L'Ollonais' weapon was listed as doing Str+5 damage. When the damage changed in the Explorer's Edition, the guideline at the time was to convert magic weapons by taking the base Damage of the weapon, figure how many "+1" mods it would have under the old system, then add any extra pluses as Damage Bonuses to the weapon. So a +5 cutlass would become a Str+d6+3 damage weapon under Explorer's Edition damage.

However, in the new 50 Fathoms book, L'ollonais' cutlass is listed as a Str+d12 damage weapon. Is this correct? If so, when wouldn't the damage rules also cap his weapon damage at d8, so L'Ollonais would only do 2d8 damage in melee?
"Your GM is metagaming ... and wrong!"

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19358
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: [50FExEd]L'Ollonais' Enchanted Saber damage?

#2 Postby Clint » Mon Nov 28, 2011 11:10 am

TheLoremaster wrote:In the original 50 Fathoms book, L'Ollonais' weapon was listed as doing Str+5 damage. When the damage changed in the Explorer's Edition, the guideline at the time was to convert magic weapons by taking the base Damage of the weapon, figure how many "+1" mods it would have under the old system, then add any extra pluses as Damage Bonuses to the weapon. So a +5 cutlass would become a Str+d6+3 damage weapon under Explorer's Edition damage.

However, in the new 50 Fathoms book, L'ollonais' cutlass is listed as a Str+d12 damage weapon. Is this correct? If so, when wouldn't the damage rules also cap his weapon damage at d8, so L'Ollonais would only do 2d8 damage in melee?


"They're more guidelines than actual rules." ;)

In other words, the cutlass does do Str+d12 damage, but it should be (and is or will be) noted that it ignores Strength minimums. There are a couple of other weapons in the book like that as well, and if not already, the update should clarify them all.
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Return to “Official Answers on How the Rules In Other Pinnacle Products Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests