Adding your Grit to Dominion rolls? Am I making this up??

All discussions about the Wasted West and Way Out West settings. If system specific, please note in the subject line, [SW], [Classic], or [d20].

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
SilasWrathStrike
Novice
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2011 12:55 pm

Adding your Grit to Dominion rolls? Am I making this up??

#1 Postby SilasWrathStrike » Wed May 25, 2011 7:37 pm

I seem to recall something that said you got to add your current Grit when making Dominion rolls for the Harrowed, anyone know if that's true, or am I just making this stuff up?

King Snarf
Seasoned
Posts: 409
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 6:15 pm
Location: Philly, PA

#2 Postby King Snarf » Thu May 26, 2011 6:50 am

It makes sense. Some of the longer lived Harrowed (Stone, Derrick Holmes) had their manitous pretty much whipped. Grit would explain that a bit.

User avatar
Templar
Seasoned
Posts: 266
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 5:25 pm

#3 Postby Templar » Thu May 26, 2011 7:47 am

I believe that in either Book O the Dead or the Deadlands players guide they mention that for your initial dominion roll you get to add your grit. The others, possibly not so much. Though that also makes sense, the idea is that if you've had to tangle with some fairly powerful things you're more wise to the tricks the manitou might pull as well as being harder for it to intimidate or threaten.

Fists-of-Dorn
Seasoned
Posts: 174
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2010 2:51 pm

Re

#4 Postby Fists-of-Dorn » Thu May 26, 2011 10:55 am

I didn't see any mention of it in the WW Player's guide or Book o' the Dead, though that's not to say that it isn't possibly somewhere in an addendum. Or it could just be an old house rule that you're thinking of. I could go with, or without, it as a house rule.


Fists.

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19572
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: Adding your Grit to Dominion rolls? Am I making this up?

#5 Postby Clint » Thu May 26, 2011 11:22 am

SilasWrathStrike wrote:I seem to recall something that said you got to add your current Grit when making Dominion rolls for the Harrowed, anyone know if that's true, or am I just making this stuff up?


Perhaps you are thinking of adding the character's current level of Dominion to the roll? Each side adds the Dominion points it currently has, so the more control one side has, the easier it is to maintain that control.

Adding Grit on top of that would skew things a bit (unless perhaps Fear Level was also subtracted from the roll).
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com

User avatar
Templar
Seasoned
Posts: 266
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 5:25 pm

#6 Postby Templar » Fri May 27, 2011 3:49 am

Just found it, I was wrong on the book, page 52 of the weird west marshals guide. It mentions adding your grit to spirit rolls for the first dominion test as the quick and dirty way of determining starting dominion if a character becomes harrowed during play.


Return to “Deadlands: Hell on Earth & Lost Colony”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Sitting Duck and 0 guests