Drivin' Battlesuit and (un)related questions

All discussions about the Wasted West and Way Out West settings. If system specific, please note in the subject line, [SW], [Classic], or [d20].

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
User avatar
Wendigo1870
Veteran
Posts: 962
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 9:23 pm
Location: Gym-Wood, Belgium
Contact:

Drivin' Battlesuit and (un)related questions

#1 Postby Wendigo1870 » Tue Jan 19, 2010 1:29 pm

Hi, long time since I've been on the forum.

Me and my players had some questions;
first one about battlesuits.

According to the Denver Sourcebook certain suits need a certain level of Drivin': Battlesuit. Now my player with battlesuit asked when he should actually roll the skill. Since regular Drivin' takes up the first of a PC's actions in a round, he thought he'd have to roll for this and give up his first action card. I didn't really think that was appropriate - but it did spark the question - when do you need to roll.
Also, in the book there's talk about a Cannister - a portable cold-fusion reactor. But nowhere in the book does it say how much it costs or how much energy it provides, ...

Then, on an unrelated note - should a Junker device that's also a vehicle be treated as a vehicle - suffering damage on locations and potentially getting critical hits? (Since this isn't standard for other devices, my player argued against this because "it's a device, not a vehicle").
He who fights with monsters should look to it that he himself does not become a monster. And when you gaze long into an abyss the abyss also gazes into you.
— Friedrich Nietzsche, Beyond Good and Evil

User avatar
Fuzyfeet
Seasoned
Posts: 375
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 11:09 pm
Location: Gilroy, Ca.

#2 Postby Fuzyfeet » Tue Jan 19, 2010 9:39 pm

Drivin':
I'd say that they need to make some movement or other physical action rolls that you would use the Drivin': Battlesuit with the appropriate Trait (i.e.: A jumpin' roll would be Drivin': Battlesuit using the Nimbleness die type)

Cannister:
I just searched my copy of the Accumulated Rules and couldn't find it, but I know that when I asked about the canister that someone (I think it was Hoppler) said that they did not include a price because it wasn't something that they thought a play should be able to buy so much as get as a reward in game. As for how much energy it provides: "A canister can produce an unlimited amount of power, and each port can supply a battlesuit 30 units of power per minute."

Junker vehicles:
As I see it, a junker car is a car that is held together by a tech spirit. So it would take damage like a car.

ScooterinAB
Seasoned
Posts: 488
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 10:28 pm

#3 Postby ScooterinAB » Tue Jan 19, 2010 11:13 pm

Keep in mind that Drivin' is normally only rolled when you are doing a maneuver or when you are trying something equally impressive. Just like how you wouldn't make a character roll Drivin' to start his car, I wouldn't make a player roll Drivin': Battlesuit to walk forward. Only when they start trying to do Swan Lake, or need to not fall off the side of a mountain during combat.

As for vehicle damage, this is where that proof of concept business comes in, Every junker must, for every device, submit a concept to the Marshal for approval. Just like how you declare that a small Flash Gordon device uses Shootin': Pistol, you declare that this device is a vehicle. Thus, it is a vehicle with all of the perks and hangups.

If he gets uppity, let it not take damage as a vehicle, but declare that he cannot use Drivin' Maneuvers, and that any vehicle like use of the device will produce undue wear and tear on the device (like a Robot giving you a piggyback ride. It's just not built to be doing that).

At the end of the day, you are the Marshal. Your decision on how you manage the game is yours, and not the players', to decide.
28/12/09 Scooter just bought a Deadlands book... In a Japanese Gaming store... And the clerk knew what it was. Awesome.

User avatar
Wendigo1870
Veteran
Posts: 962
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 9:23 pm
Location: Gym-Wood, Belgium
Contact:

#4 Postby Wendigo1870 » Wed Jan 20, 2010 1:58 pm

Okay guys, thanks for the info!
He who fights with monsters should look to it that he himself does not become a monster. And when you gaze long into an abyss the abyss also gazes into you.

— Friedrich Nietzsche, Beyond Good and Evil

User avatar
Teller
Seasoned
Posts: 316
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 6:42 am
Location: Post-apocalyptic America

#5 Postby Teller » Tue Feb 02, 2010 9:31 pm

As far as canisters go, no price was listed because in the post-apoc world, they are literally priceless.
Hope that helps.
Teller
Hell on Earth Brand manager
Weird Wars Brand manager


Return to “Deadlands: Hell on Earth & Lost Colony”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest