Official ruling regarding sleeping and waking up

This is the topic for asking questions about how the core rules officially work. Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
User avatar
Enno
Veteran
Posts: 705
Age: 53
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 11:55 pm
Location: Ulm, Germany

Official ruling regarding sleeping and waking up

#1 Postby Enno » Sun Dec 20, 2009 8:57 am

Is there any official ruling how sleeping/awakening creatures are handled?

Some of the postings here mentioned just a successful Notice roll to awaken. It seems to me a bit to easy...

Let's assume we have a sleeping guard in the barracks who is alarmed by one of his buddies that the enemy is at the gate. I see 3 steps here:

1. Awaken
2. Standing up and grab your gear (donning armor, put on clothes, grabbing weapons or something else)
3. Normal action

Step 2 and 3 are handled normal, taking actions or minutes as the normal rules say.
Does he get a Notice roll in Step 1 to wake up? Is he shaken with a success and can act normal on a raise? Since he is prone he get -2 Pace for standing up in most cases. How does Danger Sense come in to play here?

So what is the procedure here to handle the situation...
High Sage of Hoenir & Scribe of Qedeshet

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 20293
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: Official ruling regarding sleeping and waking up

#2 Postby Clint » Mon Dec 21, 2009 9:46 am

Enno wrote:Is there any official ruling how sleeping/awakening creatures are handled?


Nope, nothing specific in the core rulebook.
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Return to “Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest