[HoE] Burst Fire

All discussions about the Wasted West and Way Out West settings. If system specific, please note in the subject line, [SW], [Classic], or [d20].

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
SniperJuice
Novice
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 12:05 am

[HoE] Burst Fire

#1 Postby SniperJuice » Tue Feb 24, 2009 3:41 am

This might seem like a complete moron question however, while running a campaign I had allowed a person to take the Dualist ability from City O' Sin. Without realising that Dualist stated Short Action, now when I went back to reading the the double tap rules it states that every double tap beyond the first imposes a -3 penality for the round (just like automatic fire).

The problem is when you go back to the main book it says the Burst fire imposes the penalty for the Action not for the Round. Quickly discovered that if it's not imposed as increasing the difficulty to hit the target by -3 that dual wielding tokrav machine pistols is pretty much a instant killer.

Onto the real question because I can't find the rules errata anymore.

Is the statement made in the Double tap rules on page 5 & 6 in the [HoE] The Wasted West Book a typo or is Burst Firing suppose to impose the penalty for the round?
Some one had to do it, why not me?

Zombi Bobb
Seasoned
Posts: 191
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2003 2:17 pm

#2 Postby Zombi Bobb » Tue Feb 24, 2009 8:40 am

I think these are both correct. Burst fire is the gun firing multiple shots the way it was made to do. You pull the trigger one time and several bullets fire. Each action is a new blast.

Double tapping is a single shot repeated. You pull the trigger two times quickly shooting two bullets.

Continually double tapping through a round increases the difficulty of aiming as your hands go through the actions. Firing in bursts through a round is similar to firing a gun with a larger kick. Yes, dual machine pistols are badness materialized.

SniperJuice
Novice
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 12:05 am

#3 Postby SniperJuice » Tue Feb 24, 2009 8:52 am

I appreciate the comment, but the real question here is if the imposed penalty is suppose to be for the round or the action.
Some one had to do it, why not me?

ScooterinAB
Seasoned
Posts: 488
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 10:28 pm

#4 Postby ScooterinAB » Tue Feb 24, 2009 10:36 am

Can you give me either a page number or a quote of the wording? I write policy part time at work, and the answer will be in the context of the statement.

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 20026
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

#5 Postby Clint » Tue Feb 24, 2009 1:26 pm

Doubletaps and burst fire do not work in the exact same way.

Each doubletap after the first in the same round suffers a -2 penalty.

Burst fire penalties apply over an action.
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com

SniperJuice
Novice
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 12:05 am

#6 Postby SniperJuice » Wed Feb 25, 2009 3:28 pm

Yes, I understand this statement however the Wasted West book came out after the Primary HoE Book. and states (the following is a qoute)

Every double-tap after the first in the same round suffers a -2 recoil penalty (just like when firing automatic weapons), up to a *blah blah blah* .. go buy the book for the rest.

for those of you that have the book it is Page 6 to page 7 or if you have the pdf file for some reason starts on page 7 and goes to page 8.
Some one had to do it, why not me?

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 20026
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

#7 Postby Clint » Wed Feb 25, 2009 4:29 pm

Sorry, but I'm confused; did I not answer part of the question or was it simply a matter of my answer contradicting that part of the book?

If the latter, the statement from the Wasted West that says, "(just like when firing automatic weapons)" is not accurate. They are similar but different in the way I listed above. At least, that's the "official" answer for what it's worth.
Clint Black

Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager



www.peginc.com

SniperJuice
Novice
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 12:05 am

#8 Postby SniperJuice » Wed Feb 25, 2009 10:16 pm

Thank you, I miss-read the earlier post and thought it was another song and dance not really answering the question but the key to this is to ignore the Parentheses statement.
Some one had to do it, why not me?


Return to “Deadlands: Hell on Earth & Lost Colony”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests