DLR: Fast as Lightning

All discussions about the Weird West setting for Savage Worlds. If specific to another system, please note in the subject line, [Classic], [d20], or [Protocol].

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
User avatar
Boldfist
Heroic
Posts: 1228
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 1:40 pm
Location: Cleveland, OH
Contact:

DLR: Fast as Lightning

#1 Postby Boldfist » Thu Dec 11, 2008 12:18 pm

Greetings.

Just wondering how *exactly* this Edge works now that I have a player that has taken it at Legendary.

Do you just ignore the Quick Edge and change every card less than a 10 to a 10? Or do you still get to discard and redraw 5 or less and then if you get a 6 but less than a 10 treat it as a 10?

I ask because Quick can help you cycle through the deck faster and also give you a better chance of getting a face card/Joker. However, if Fast as Lightning ignores the discard and draw ability of Quick then you will only ever get one card on your Initiative and change it to a 10.

So how's it work? :-D
Norm "No Relation" Hensley

User avatar
SlasherEpoch
Legendary
Posts: 5625
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2003 11:16 pm
Location: Off stage left

#2 Postby SlasherEpoch » Thu Dec 11, 2008 1:50 pm

Seems to me that your second assumption is right.

You redraw 5 or less; if the new card is more than 5 but less than 10, change it to a 10.

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19848
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

#3 Postby Clint » Thu Dec 11, 2008 2:26 pm

It doesn't negate Quick; it just supplements it. So you have to get dealt lower than a 10 after Quick is accounted for.
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com

User avatar
Boldfist
Heroic
Posts: 1228
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 1:40 pm
Location: Cleveland, OH
Contact:

#4 Postby Boldfist » Thu Dec 11, 2008 2:55 pm

Excellent. Thanks for the answer!
Norm "No Relation" Hensley

User avatar
TheLoremaster
Legendary
Posts: 2071
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2003 9:53 am
Location: Buffalo, NY
Contact:

#5 Postby TheLoremaster » Thu Dec 11, 2008 4:06 pm

Clint wrote:It doesn't negate Quick; it just supplements it. So you have to get dealt lower than a 10 after Quick is accounted for.

So, to review, you should adjudicate:
  • Level headed
  • Quick
  • Fast as Lightning

Just want to clarify for future reference...
"Your GM is metagaming ... and wrong!"

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19848
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

#6 Postby Clint » Thu Dec 11, 2008 4:28 pm

TheLoremaster wrote:So, to review, you should adjudicate:
  • Level headed
  • Quick
  • Fast as Lightning
Just want to clarify for future reference...


Yep.
Clint Black

Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager



www.peginc.com


Return to “Deadlands: The Weird West”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest