bloodshadows wrote:The wording in the book is a bit vague regarding use of Red and Blue chips compared to White. Under Red Chips, it states that the Marshal does not get a draw if the Red is used as a White (reroll, soak a wound...). So, if a Red or Blue is used to soak a wound, does the character add 1d6 to their soak roll or simply roll Vigor as usual?
As I read it, it would seem that all colors of chip soak wounds the same but effects on other rolls differ depending on color.
Yep. Basically, any chip can be spent to reroll or remove a Shaken (with the option to Soak), and the GM doesn't get a draw from the pot.
Red and Blue chips offer the additional option to add +1d6 to a roll, but if a Red chip is spent for this effect, the GM gets to draw a Fate Chip.
bloodshadows wrote:If that is the case, do you think it would unbalance things if I house-rule it so the +1d6 applies to soak rolls as well?
Well, keep in mind that a Fate Chip could be spent to Soak, and then a Red or Blue Chip could be spent to add +1d6 to that roll. So the effect is possible; it just requires spending two chips (for that matter, more Red or Blue chips could be spent to add additional +1d6s to the result).
I'm not sure how unbalancing it might be. It would certainly make Red and Blue Chips more valuable for Soaking. It should go without saying (but just in case it doesn't) that using a Red Chip in to Soak would then allow the GM a Fate Chip draw (since it is not an ability of a White Chip).
Ultimately, the effect will work both for the players and the GM (though more often on the player's side), and of course, the GM has the benefit that when he spends a Red Chip in that fashion, the players don't get a draw from the pot.