A question about Arcane Powers and Running

This is the topic for asking questions about how the core rules officially work. Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
User avatar
therealtony
Seasoned
Posts: 452
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:20 pm
Location: Vancouver Bee.CEeeeee..
Contact:

A question about Arcane Powers and Running

#1 Postby therealtony » Tue Jan 30, 2007 2:00 pm

So...as we were playing Rippers last night, my escape artist/psionic activated his speed power to flee a swarm of nasty meat hungry bugs.."Human meat" that is..

After I activated my "Speed" the GM asked me if I was running as well and told me to roll a d6 to add to my now doubled pace..

At the time I thought to my self.."Boy this is great! I have a pace of 18! to bad nobody is around to watch me break the 1890 100 metre record"..

Later I wondered if the rules actually allow you to "Run" and stack that d6 bonus onto your Arcane Speed power?

It felt hinky..

Mighty elders hear my plea! We await your answer oh wisened sages of the Savage Worlds!

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19319
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: A question about Arcane Powers and Running

#2 Postby Clint » Tue Jan 30, 2007 3:05 pm

therealtony wrote:So...as we were playing Rippers last night, my escape artist/psionic activated his speed power to flee a swarm of nasty meat hungry bugs.."Human meat" that is..

After I activated my "Speed" the GM asked me if I was running as well and told me to roll a d6 to add to my now doubled pace..

At the time I thought to my self.."Boy this is great! I have a pace of 18! to bad nobody is around to watch me break the 1890 100 metre record"..

Later I wondered if the rules actually allow you to "Run" and stack that d6 bonus onto your Arcane Speed power?

It felt hinky..

Mighty elders hear my plea! We await your answer oh wisened sages of the Savage Worlds!


I don't feel "elder" or "wisened." Okay, maybe I'm feeling a bit "elder." ;)

As to the question, yes, absolutely. In fact, the Speed power specifically says that on a raise the character can Run as a free action. So they can definitely still run as a normal action without the raise.

Oh, but you still wouldn't break the 1890 100m run record. The earliest recorded time was 12 seconds in 1896 (unofficial). You'd need Fleet-Footed and Speed to pull off 100m in two rounds. ;)
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Return to “Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests